Monday, September 14, 2020

LOOSE GOOSE FLYING V PRO PERCUSSIVE THERAPY MASSAGE DEVICE

Product Details:
The Flying V Pro Plus is a powerful deep muscle massage device with 20 speed settings from 1200-3200rpm to provide all levels of treatment.

Our signature model features an ultra-quiet brushless motor and ships with 6 easily interchangeable attachments for all parts of the body.

Join the flock and see how a percussive therapy device deeply massages to relieve tension and soreness.

All products ship with a travel case.

Check out our Questions & Answers page for more info! Always can use our contact page to get in touch as well!

https://loosegoose.co/products/flying-v-pro-plus-percussive-therapy-massage-device

We set out to offer percussive therapy devices that were reasonably priced without sacrificing quality. Our signature model, the Flying V Pro Plus does exactly that.

There are 20 speed settings from 1200-3200rpm (rate per min of percussion) to customize therapy from a light massage to a intense percussive therapy session. Additionally, the brushless motor allows for a much quieter experience than other products on the market.

Each device comes with a travel case & 6 easily-interchangeable massage heads designed for general purpose or specific muscle groups depending on the style. The attachments page of our site loosegoose.co explains some of the best practices. You will learn which suit your need best after a few uses.

The benefits of percussive therapy are tremendous. When incorporated into your routine it can help increase circulation & flexibility as well as speed up muscle recovery by breaking down lactic acid buildup - which is a key factor in causing body fatigue.

Our users range from professional athletes to the regular active type. Both seeing the benefits of using a Loose Goose. From runners to weightlifters to boxers and more, incorporating percussive therapy into your routine can help you speed up recovery and feel better on a daily basis.

https://loosegoose.co/products/flying-v-pro-plus-percussive-therapy-massage-device


Product Review:
What role does massage play in your recovery? With the right percussion massager, you could recover faster with greater comfort.

A percussion massager is a handheld device that applies pulses of concentrated pressure deep into your muscle tissue. This form of deep-tissue massage can work knots and tension out of the muscles while improving blood flow and quickly enhancing range of motion. When used properly, a percussion massager can shorten your recovery time while relieving some of the pain, tension and soreness that comes naturally from intense martial arts workouts.

This is a unique that I wanted to purchase because you pay a lot of money for an hour session with this massage gun. I didn’t realize how affordable this machine was until I saw it on amazon. It is a good size and not super heavy. The instruction seems easy and simple to use. I like that I can carry it around and it is very easy to store. It is easy to clean and the machine is very powerful. I get a massage every two weeks because I have a lot neck pains. I might go less because this machine has been a lifesaving. It something you can do yourself or have someone to help you. 

I love how quiet it is and you can adjust the speed. I was worried it was going to hurt but you have to play around to figure out what setting is good for you. It is only weighs about one kilogram or 2.2lbs with the ergonomic designed grip minimizes external vibrations and the durable anti slip silicone grip makes the massage easier and comfortable to hold for my enjoyment. There are so many different ways I can use this massage and leave my body feeling amazing. It is perfect for breaking up the knots in muscles and muscle recovery after a workout and it is also effective at increasing my range of motion, engaging and relaxing the muscle. 

The pulsating action gets deep into the muscle and is a great remover of my aches and pains. I hope it can help me relieve muscle stiffness and soreness, increase blood pressure, improve the overall health of the body's soft tissues, moreover, it can prevent fascists which is a kind of painful and difficult to heal inflammation caused by adhesion between the fascia and muscles. I came with six replaceable massage heads, a lot of adjustable speed level, and one beautiful portable case. This is an amazing product for such an affordable price. I use it almost every day and I can tell a different with my neck and shoulder problems. This product is made of high quality material and highly recommended.

1 - 4 Mild Massage
5 - 8 Professional Massage
9 - 12 Muscle Stimulation
13 - 16 Decomposition of Lactic Acid
17 - 20 Deep Muscle Therapy

Monday, September 7, 2020

How Long Will It Take To Recoup Your Home Gym Investment?

An idea of a home gym may sound too expensive for you; however, in reality, it’s a great investment. The best part is that you don’t have to wait too long for your return on investment. You can get it as soon as 7 months! Let us break it down, because everyone likes numbers when it comes to savings, right?

If you’re going to a big box gym like Gold’s or similar, the monthly price is around $50 on average! You might get perks like a sauna and swimming pool with that, but how many times you have used the swimming pool? You’re there for a squat rack, weights, and maybe leg press - all of which you often have to wait on. In the meantime, there is an overwhelming amount of people and machines, while you just want to stick to your simple routine. Things that bothered you at your local gym won’t be a problem with a home gym anymore!

On the other hand, if you choose to go to a CrossFit® gym on an unlimited plan, you will spend AT LEAST $150 per month. That is $1800 every year! With your home gym investment of $1,000, you'd make your investment back in less than 7 months. Think about it, you will have everything you need in your garage gym for the price of your membership. You don’t have to be constricted by the class hours, you can have your CrossFit® or cross-training workouts whenever it works best for you. If you were missing motivation, nothing can motivate you more than the convenience of your gym and your new gym toys! Some people like the social aspect of a group training gym, being a part of the team that pushes you, but you can still invite people to your home gym. Moreover, you can now workout with your family.

So, to sum it up, if you spend $1,000 to start your home gym you would make your investment back in less than 7 months if you were going to a CrossFit® gym or 20 months for a big box gym. However, the beauty of a home gym, besides saving a ton of money, is that you get to have your schedule. Whether you are curious about lifting or have been in this game for quite a while, a home gym can be ideal for you! If you are worried about not knowing what exercises to do? Street Parking is an online workout programmer with a focus on lifting and metabolic conditioning. Only $180 for a year!

Monday, August 31, 2020

The Drug-Free Path to Pain Relief: Physical Therapy

Pain is a serious problem in today’s world. An estimated 1 out of every 5 Americans suffers from some degree of chronic pain, and 8 percent of those sufferers find the pain so intense that they can’t pursue their normal activities. It’s little wonder, then, that painkillers and anti-inflammatory drugs have grown into such a mammoth industry. Unfortunately, these drugs offer their own share of troubles, from addiction to dangerous effects on internal organs. Many people are now seeking effective pain relief that doesn’t come from a pill bottle. If you’re one of those people, you need to know about the amazing pain-busting potential of physical therapy.

The Problem With Painkillers

A variety of over-the-counter and prescription medications promise to ease pain and inflammation temporarily. Steroids do this by suppressing the immune system for people suffering from painful auto-immune disorders (such as rheumatoid arthritis). That same immune-suppressing power, however, also makes the body more vulnerable to infection. Long-term steroid use has also been associated with cataracts, glaucoma, hypertension, water retention, acne, high blood sugar and osteoporosis. NSAIDs (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs) block the production of inflammatory chemicals in the body. These drugs aren’t necessarily safe, either. NSAIDs can cause stomach bleeding and kidney damage in some individuals. They have also been associated with elevated heart attack and stroke risks.

Perhaps the most ominous danger comes from opioid drugs. Opioids can deaden more than just pain. These powerful drugs caused over 70,000 fatal overdoses in 2017 alone. Some of these deaths may have been related to recreational drug use, but over 60 percent of the deceased were chronic pain sufferers.

Physical Therapy for All-Natural Pain Management

Physical therapy offers numerous advantages as a safe, effective, all-natural pain management tool. A physical therapist takes each individual’s symptoms (and those symptoms’ underlying causes) into account when devising a physical therapy plan for pain management. Your plan might include modalities such as:

  • Aerobic exercises to get the blood flowing and encourage joint lubrication
  • Resistance training exercises to strengthen muscles, making physical actions less of a strain
  • Cold laser therapy and/or massage therapy to boost circulation, relax tissues and reduce inflammation
  • Electrical nerve stimulation to interrupt pain signals
  • Chiropractic adjustment to help joints move more freely and correct painful musculoskeletal imbalances
  • A soothing combination of heat therapy and cryotherapy

Physical therapy appears to have one more major contribution to make toward freeing pain sufferers from their symptoms. Some physical therapists have adopted “brain-rewiring” techniques such as graded motor imagery to help patients develop a new perception of their pain — one that allows them to master and minimize their responses to it. This form of physical therapy seeks to give individuals more control over their pain so that they can tolerate more exercise, which then reduces the pain even more.

Physical therapy can do more than just help you feel better. By providing you with non-pharmaceutical pain control measures, this form of care can help you steer clear of the side effects of prescription and non-prescription drugs. Better yet, you’re going beyond the temporary numbing of your symptoms by actually treating the underlying causes of those symptoms. Why settle for the illusion of relief when you can have the real thing — and improve your health and functionality in the process?

Source:


Monday, August 24, 2020

RECIPE: Greek Stir-Fry + Meal Prep Haven Containers

Greek Stir-Fry
Prep Time: 8-10 min
Serves: 4-5

Ingredients
Calories
Fat (g)
Carbs (g)
Protein (g)
• 1 lb. ground beef
1152
90
0
78
• 1 lb. frozen green beans
140
0
28
6
• 1 large onion
60
0
14
4
• 2 tbsp. coconut oil
234
28
0
0
• 1 15-oz. can of diced tomatoes
85
0
21
2
• 1 tsp. basil
• 1 tsp. salt
• 1 tsp. oregano
• 1 tsp. garlic powder




Totals
1671
118
63
90
Per Serving
334
23.5
12.5
18

Instructions
• Melt oil in a large skillet and add diced onion.
• Cook three minutes or until starting to become translucent.
• Add ground meat and cook until well browned.
• While cooking, add spices.
• Once meat is browned, add the diced tomatoes (drain off liquid first!), green beans and any additional spices if needed.
• Cover pan and simmer 15+ minutes or until all vegetables have softened.
• Check after ten minutes and add a couple tablespoons of water or chicken broth if needed.
• Serve warm and enjoy!


Meal Prep Haven 1, 2, and 3 compartment containers:

  • DESIGNED FOR MEAL PREP: Easily store food while prepping in advance. Pop your pre-made meals in the freezer for storage and thaw them in the fridge overnight for the next days meal. 
  • EXCELLENT FOR PORTION CONTROL: Each container stores up to 17 oz of food, making it a great tool for keeping your diet in check. 
  • BPA FREE: All our containers are certified BPA free to ensure that youre not exposed to chemicals typically found in containers. 
  • MICROWAVE & DISHWASHER SAFE: These containers can withstand the freezer, fridge, microwave & dishwasher (top rack). Use them again and again so that you can save time & money.
Built for meal preppers, by meal preppers, that's our motto. At Meal Prep Haven, we know that preparation is the key to meeting your fitness goals. With the right tools and mindset we're here to empower all of our customer to stay happy, fit and healthy.

Weight loss isn't easy. In fact, it's damn hard. That's why we built our containers to help our customers plan their meals for the week ahead. Our 1 compartment containers help you stick your diet plan. Simply cook for the week ahead, portion them out evenly across a week's worth of containers and voila! your weekly nutritional needs are set ahead.

Order yours here: 
http://www.mealprephaven.com/store/
Meal Prep Haven on Amazon

Simple product that arrives quickly and does it's job perfectly. As a college student, meal prep has become crucial to managing my time wisely while still eating well. This product has aided me greatly in that endeavor. The containers survive the microwave no problem, even though they are quite thin and light. The seal is good all the way around the container and have yet to experience any leaks in my backpack when they are full of chicken breast and beans on my walks to class. These are also far more affordable than other leading brands. Highly recommend.

Monday, August 17, 2020

PT Pathologies: Patellofemoral Syndrome

Patellofemoral syndrome is characterized by pain around the patella, or kneecap, particularly when walking up and down stairs, running, or sitting for long periods of time.  This pain can range from a dull ache under and around the kneecap, or the knee may grind or pop when performing activities.

The cause of patellofemoral syndrome is the irritation of the cartilage on the backside of the patella.  There is a grove at the distal end of the femur the patella moves up and down on as the person moves.  A tendon comes off the quadriceps, the main muscle in the thigh, which attaches to the top of the tibia.  The patella floats within that area.  When the vastus medialis oblique (VMO) gets weakened, the IT band will tighten and pull the patella out of the groove, causing friction and discomfort.  Patellofemoral syndrome is most common in young, female athletes due to the rapid rate of growth weakening the VMO.  Xray, MRI, anthrogram and arthroscopy can all be used as diagnosis tools to look at the surrounding cartilage of the knee.

Treatment options for patellofemoral syndrome consist of rest, ice, taping, a knee sleeve, NSAIDS, physical therapy and surgery.  An important part of physical therapy is strengthening the quadriceps and hips, and stretching the ITB, hamstrings and calf muscles.  Great exercises for this pathology include the 4 way hip exercise that includes, straight leg raises, SL hip abductions, SL adductions and hip extensions.  The VMO can be strengthened by external rotation of the hip with straight leg raise. Keeping up with these exercises combined with lower extremity stretches focusing on the ITB for 20 minutes a day can improve symptoms in approximately 6 weeks.  As the exercises get easier, more reps or weight can be added to increase difficulty.

In Summary:

  • Causes damage to the articular cartilage of the patella ranging from softening to complete cartilage destruction resulting in exposure of subchondral bone.
  • Etiology is unknown, however, it is extremely common during adolescence, is more prevelant in females than males and has a direct association with activity level
  • Management includes controlling edema, stretching, strengthening, improving range of motion and activity modification.

Monday, August 10, 2020

Top 5 Kettlebell Preparatory Movements

Warming up muscle groups is an essential element to any workout. A quality warm-up can prevent injuries and helps the body perform at a high level of intensity. Kettlebells offer a great way to warm up the muscles, and don’t require a lot of space to store around the house. Movement preparation is a style of dynamic warm-ups that activate different muscle groups at the same time. These types of exercises will increase circulation and activates the body in preparation for physically demanding activities. Here are five great kettlebell exercises that will ensure you have a great workout every time:

1.  Halo
(demo in link)

Muscle Groups - Shoulders, upper-back

Movement - Holding the kettlebell like a steering wheel, with the hands on both sides of the grip and the weight on-top, rotate the weight around your head. Focus on keeping your chin up, elbows in, and stand tall. Then, slowly rotate the kettlebell counterclockwise around the neck while also rotating the weight so that the wrists do not bend. The forearms should rub across the top of the head during this motion. Halfway through the action, the kettlebell should be in the middle of the back with the weight below the handles and elbows pointed to the sky. Users should feel the sensation of the weight pulling down on their shoulders at this point. Without pausing, continue moving the kettlebell in the same direction until it is back at the starting position. Try five to ten rotations in one direction, and then perform the operation in the opposite direction.

Focus - Keep the kettlebell as close to the neck as possible to enhance shoulder mobility.

Repetitions - 5 to 10 on each side


2. Arm Bar
(demo in link)

Muscle Groups - Shoulders, thoracic spine, abdomen

Movement - Start by lying flat on your back with a light-weight kettlebell in the right hand, and the arm fully extended above the body. Slowly rotate onto your stomach, while keeping the kettlebell in the same position. This motion requires the shoulder to rotate, with the right leg driving the torso into the roll. Next, drive the right knee to the ground, with the leg bent at a 90-degree angle, and the head resting on the left bicep. After the hips are flush with the ground, flex the shoulder blades to maintain the balance, and begin to extend the legs as far as possible, until both knees are locked and the toes are pointed. While in this position, concentrate on breathing and flexing the glutes, while feeling a stretch across the chest and thoracic spine. Allow the shoulder blades to pull in, towards each other, but do not “shrug”. Hold this position for five deep breaths, and slowly reverse the movement to come back to original position. Slowly lower the kettlebell while flat on your back, and safely halo to the other side to repeat the exercise in the opposite direction.

Focus - Maintain the weight’s center of balance while the arm is fully extended

Repetitions - 3 to 5 on each side


3.  Goblet Squat
(demo in link)

Muscle Groups - Quadriceps, abdomen

Movement - Grab the kettlebell by the horns, and hold it close to your chest. Spread your legs slightly wider than shoulder-width, with your toes pointing out at a 45-degree angle for balance, and keep the chin up. Slowly lower the body while keeping the back straight and your eyes forward, until your hamstrings are as close as possible to your calves. Concentrate on extending the buttocks out, and keep the back as straight as possible. At the lowest point, pause for two or three full breaths, and use your elbows to gently push the knees out. Keeping the back straight and the abdomen tight, stand up from this position to return to the original stance.

*note: jumping vertically three times in a row and then looking down is a good way to identify how far apart the feet should be during this exercise

Focus - The feet should stay flat on the floor during this entire exercise

Repetitions - 10 to 20


4.  Cossack Squat - goblet grip
Muscle Groups - Glutes, inner-thighs, quadriceps, hip flexibility

Movement - Holding the kettlebell with a straight spine, stand with your feet wider than shoulder-width, and place your left foot facing out with the toes pointed to the sky. Keeping the left knee straight, slowly squat with the right leg while concentrating on keeping both heels on the floor. Go down as far as possible, and then slowly stand up to the original position before switching sides.

*note: if you struggle to keep the left leg straight, then try widening the stance slightly

Focus - Keep the foot of the squatting leg flat on the ground

Repetitions - 5 to 10 on each leg


5.  Good Mornings - modified
Muscle Groups - Glutes, lower back, hamstrings, hip flexibility

Movement - Hold the kettlebell at waist level, and stand tall with your feet slightly further than shoulder-width apart. As you inhale, bend at the hips, and push the buttocks back as you descend, until the torso is about 15-degrees above the horizon. Hold the position for one full breath, and return to the original position by concentrating on flexing the glutes while pushing the hips forward.

Focus - Keep the back straight for the duration of the movement. Push the hips back as the upper body moves forward, and bring the hips forward when returning to the original position

Repetitions - 5 to 10
  


Kettlebell Kings is based in Austin, Texas and creates high quality kettlebells in a number of different styles with Free Shipping and Lifetime Warranty on all including Powder Coat Kettlebells, Competition Kettlebells, Cerakote Kettlebells and Steel Standard. Kettlebell Kings publishes lots of helpful content at blog.kettlebellkings.com as well as free weekly kettlebell workouts anyone can subscribe to here.

Monday, August 3, 2020

Product Review: Rumble Rollers - Gator

GATOR PROVIDES HIGH COMPRESSIONThe first thing to note about the Gator is that its firm surface and small diameter (about 4.5" or 115mm) produce high compressive forces in the muscle. You'll get as much localized compression as with PVC pipe, but with much less pain or soft tissue damage.

You'll also find that the smaller diameter allows you to better work smaller body depressions, such as the arch of your foot or the curve in your neck.


PLUS CROSS FRICTION!
Pressing harder and deeper isn't the only way to massage a muscle. Another way to free stuck tissues is to pull them apart. Of course you can't grab the deeper tissue directly, but you can move higher layers of soft tissue to create a separating (shear) force that displaces underlying layers. This approach is often referred to as cross frictional massage.

Cross frictional massage is normally done by a massage therapist who uses his thumbs or fingertips to apply short, firm strokes across the muscle fibers. RumbleRoller's Gator is the only foam roller that can grip your skin well enough to mimic this type of massage.
INGENIOUS PATENT PENDING TECHNOLOGY. The surface of the Gator contains specially-designed bumps that enable both muscle compression and cross friction.

MULTI-DIRECTIONAL MUSCLE THERAPY. With its unique design, the RumbleRoller Gator helps erode trigger points, restore flexibility, and bring quick relief to common types of muscular pain.

STRONG IMPACT TO TRANSFORM YOUR BODY.
Gator is more beginner-friendly than RumbleRoller's deep-tissue rollers, but don't mistake it for a beginner's roller. The advanced features of this roller benefit even the most experienced athlete.

CUTTING-EDGE CONSTRUCTION. RumbleRoller uses a solid multi-piece core made from very resilient grades of high-density EVA foam. The core and outer shell are both carefully engineered to provide maximum durability and optimal feel. Other manufacturers use hollow cores to reduce costs, but this has a negative effect on a roller's performance and long-term durability. RumbleRoller builds the most effective products that it can, and refuses to cut corners.

My Review:
This roller is great! It’s a little smaller in diameter, but I’ve found that I’m able to get into places of my body (Quads, posterior delts/lats, IT Band) comfortably without the discomfort of sitting too high off the ground. With the bumps on the roller, I’m able to grip my skin and pull my skin perpendicular to the direction of the muscle fibers, and enables me to focus on the fascia system - which is intricately woven into your muscular system and often gets neglected for various reasons. My mobility is better as well as my recovery. Anyone that lives an active lifestyle must do some research on this type of recovery to extend the life of that activity and perform above their current fitness level. Sure, it’s a little expensive, but I’d rather spend money on things like this as a preventative measure to keep me out of the doctor’s office

The center core is made of firm foam rubber. The roller is not soft... but it's not hard either. It's very firm but flexible enough to roll over bony areas without any discomfort. Works great for fascial release and getting out those stubborn knotty areas in the larger muscle groups.

Testimonial from Rick R.:
          "My Physical Therapist highly recommend me to buy this roller. It definitely does not disappoint. Out of all the foam rollers I've tried, only this one really helped me loosen up my fascia. The well shaped bumps along the roller are firm and perfectly spaced and do a great job deeply pressing into skin and muscle. The material screams quality and I can feel results immediately with fewer rolls than other brands.

I'll admit, I was on the fence on this item because it was quite pricy, but you definitely get what you pay for. Its the best roller I ever bought and is really helping me with my tight legs and lower back."


Testimonial from Lauren J.:          "Surprising effective!! Product provides the perfect amount of pressure and hits the right spots without being too aggressive. I was afraid it might not be aggressive enough, but it works wonders! This item has been very successful in helping me rehab my hip and back after three back to back pregnancies. I had several sciatica and my hips kept rotating back and going out of place. Some of the most pains things I’ve ever experienced. I struggled with even walking. My hips would go out at any time with no warning. I am feeling amazing after a few weeks of use and feel like I can start becoming active again. I have missed being active and fit and this has given me the relief I needed to begin!"

Monday, July 27, 2020

Titan Fitness: Yukon Bar Product Review

Product Details:
LOSE UNNECESSARY PAIN: Using the black oxide-coated Yukon Bar means adding six inches of barbell curvature to help keep your body in pristine form, and put an end to back and shoulder pain from squatting.

OUR BEST CURVED BARBELL: The Yukon Bar is longer than our Bison Bar (96” instead of 87”), comes with more loadable sleeve length (17 1/2” instead of 16”) and a higher weight capacity (2,000 LB versus 500 LB).

BLACK OXIDE COATING: Your barbell will last longer, look great, and exceed expectations with the black oxide coating process – guaranteeing a resistance to rust and corrosion.

TOUGH STEEL CONSTRUCTION: Never fear your barbell suffering under too much intensity. Bring your toughest workout to the Yukon Bar – the durable steel construction will make it through.

DIMENSIONS: Between sleeves, this barbell measures at 58 1/8”, and the grip size is 32 mm (or 1.26”) in diameter. The Yukon Bar is designed with a 6” curvature.

SPECIFICATIONS:
- Overall length: 96”
- Length handle to handle: 58 1/8”
- Loadable Sleeve Length: 17 1/2”
- Grip Diameter: 32 mm / 1.26”
- Barbell Curvature: 6”
- Coating: Black Oxide
- Weight Capacity: 2,000 LB
- Weight: 50 LB

Don’t settle for unnecessary strain and discomfort, pick up the Yukon Bar from Titan Fitness and give yourself a better workout! Lose your worrisome back and shoulder pain with the brilliantly curved barbell design. The Yukon bar is longer than our other curved barbell, the Bison Bar, at 96” instead of 87” – and a loadable sleeve length of 17 1/2” for each side. Our older Bison Bar maxes out at 500 LB, but the Yukon Bar comes in at a whopping 2,000 LB capacity. Other functional design changes were made, for example, the Yukon Bar will now remain upright when it’s racked.

Our Yukon Bar will rest comfortably on your shoulders for squatting, with a 6” curvature that feels more natural than an ordinary barbell. The black oxide coating ensures that your barbell’s stunning finish is resistant to rust and corrosion. Knurling on the handle stretches across five different sections of the bar; including knurling directly at the center. Between the loadable Olympic sleeves, this bar measures 58 1/8” in handle to handle length. The barbell grip measures at 32 mm, or 1.26” in diameter.

Review:
There are many reasons this bar can help your bench; the two most commonly spouted are the ability to centre the wrist joint and shoulder joint more effectively especially with wider grips, and of course the ability to do extended range pressing aka go lower than you could with a standard barbell. Although both of these are great, I think the most important benefit that comes from benching with the Yukon bar is the ability for the bar to teach you the proper elbow position for benching.

Over-tucking the Elbows: the unspoken cause of elbow pain and missed benches

Cambered bench bars have been around forever, but most if not all of them have you grip the bar at the same level as the centre of the plates, and the cambered portion bends around the lifter; however, with the Yukon bar, you’re actually gripping the weight slightly above the centre of mass, creating a small swing arm between the lifter that can swing in pendulum fashion either towards the hips, or towards the face. This means smaller fore/aft mistakes are magnified and you’ll be made immediately aware of whether you are sitting directly under the centre of mass, or if you’ve dumped the bar to low to touch your chest, or over-tucked your elbows to try and drive the bar back towards the rack

The 6in bend encourages proper joint centration and reduces rotational demand on the shoulder
Improves scapular retraction and lat engagement in the press and squat.  With a standard barbell and sub-maximal weights, this isn’t always easy to feel, as many people are strong enough to bully the bar back into position even after a suboptimal start until they get to the last couple reps of a set, or the weight gets heavy enough, but with the Yukon those errors become immediately apparent. If your weakness is off the chest or in the low midpoint of your bench press, before you go blaming the chest and anterior delt, take a hard look at your bench press path.

Aside from the heart break of missed benches, the other unspoken issue with over-tucking and keeping the elbows behind the wrists/centre of mass is that it creates a lateral torque on a joint that is not adequately adapted to handle those forces. The elbow is a hinge joint with the ability to rotate, however it really doesn’t handle continued exposure varus or valgus stresses very well. It takes awhile for this to show up, but if you’re dealing with elbow pain or tendinitis issues in your bench press, first take a look at your squat technique (especially if it’s worse on days that you squat the day before) and then take a good hard look at your bench press path – chances are your elbows are lagging behind your wrists for the majority of your bench press.

From an outsiders’ perspective, it may be hard to see why a bent barbell makes such a big difference. Sure, it’s more comfortable, but is it really worth the additional cost? However, safety is one concern many people face when they start lifting weights. If you use incorrect form or make certain mistakes, you can seriously injure yourself. With the Yukon Bar, you’re taking a step towards safety and protecting yourself when you lift.  Your back isn’t perfectly straight, so why should your barbell be? The bent shape lets it lie properly across your shoulders for stability and comfort.

These main benefits might entice you to add this bar:
Incredible engineering and quality
Maximum comfort during weight sessions
Safe and pain-free with minimal shoulder stress

However, these are some minor concerns I want to make you aware of:
Doesn’t sit properly in most power racks
Takes time to adjust to the shape


It’s covered in black oxide, and to that end looks and feels great. Definitely has the look of a higher end barbell without the added price. The knurl is a little passive, which for a squat and pressing bar, I’m completely fine with. Glad they opted for center knurling this time around.

I had just used the Bison Bar before this (Titan’s first 6” cambered Buffalo/Duffalo Bar competitor),  I overall liked their Bison Bar, particularly for benching. The added depth was great, though a lot of that was near the very edges where you couldn’t actually grip. It didn’t sit well on the rack, however, and overall was a little wobbly. Also pushed the J hooks out just a little if you weren’t careful, no matter how I arranged my particular ones. It was plenty ‘good enough’ for me, and I solved it sitting in the rack very easily by putting fat grips on the parts that sat on the J hooks near the edge, but it definitely had the feel of a 1.0 product.

The Yukon Bar addresses any and all issues I had with the Bison Bar. The balance of this bar is perfect. It sits on the rack just fine without any help. The black oxide coating looks nice, though I’d personally still have been fine with chrome. The spin of the sleeves is just right, far smoother than the Bison Bar.

As to the 6” camber of it, vs the 4” on higher end bars, I think that’s mostly a marketing gimmick. Because a good 1-2” of that is likely going to be outside of your grip range for pressing, you wouldn’t get much benefit from it there as far as range of motion goes. It is 2” more cambered for where the weights sit when squatting and doing anything on your back, but I wouldn’t imagine that’s going to have a substantive impact compared to a 4” camber. For all intents and purposes, the camber on the Yukon Bar’s basically the same as that of the other Buffalo/Duffalo style bars, the main difference being price.

This is the longest barbell I own, sitting way taller than my Titan SSB 2.0 in my vertical rack. It’s so tall/long that I would say that if you only have vertical barbell storage to put it in and low ceilings, you’re going to need to measure. I think it even stands taller than my rack in there. I have tall ceilings for an apartment, and it’s right up there near them. If the space around your rack is also limited, you’ll need to measure if the width will fit too, as I have to duck under one side of it to get by on one side of my rack. It’s 96” long as I recall.

The grip marks on the bar are also very wide, but that’s not that big of a deal. I usually grip wide when using these kinds of bars for presses anyway because that’s part of the benefit of the bars.

I would have preferred it if they somehow managed to mimic the size of their Bison Bar while simply addressing the issues of it without making it significantly longer, but if that’s what it take to make it less wobbly and sit right in the rack, I’m fine with it.  Overall, this is an amazing specialty bar for the price!

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

So You’ve Been Having Back Pain… Could it be Caused by a Herniated Disc?


If you’ve been experiencing back pain, it just may be a herniated disc. A herniated disc can put extra pressure on the muscles and nerves around the spinal column. Symptoms may include, pain on one side of the body, pain that radiates to the arms or legs, aching, burning sensations in the affected area and pain with certain movements.

What is a Herniated Disc?

The spinal column is comprised of a series of bones. “The cervical spine has seven bones, the lumbar spine has five bones and the thoracic spine has 12.” Each disc has a gelatinous inner section and a tough outer ring. When the disc protrudes through the outer ring, it is known as a herniated disc. This can cause numbness, pain and discomfort.
There are a number of factors that can cause a herniated disc. Certain motions like turning or twisting can cause a herniated disc. Lifting heavy objects is another culprit. Being overweight can cause a herniated disc, too. This is because the discs have to support more weight. Older people are at risk for a herniated disc. As we age, the discs begin to lose some of their protective water content. This causes the disc to slip more easily out of place.
“Studies have indicated that genetic factors influence many, if not most of the diseases commonly encountered in clinical practice by physical therapists, such as herniated disc. Genetics has been shown to play a role in end-plate herniations at 40-49 years of age.”

The Benefits of Physical Therapy for a Herniated Disc

Physical therapy plays a critical role in recovering from a herniated disc. A physical therapist implements different techniques for pain relief and healing. Passive treatments like deep tissue massage, electric stimulation and hot and cold therapy are a few examples of passive treatments. Deep tissue massage uses pressure to relieve spasms and deep muscle tension due to a herniated disc. Hot therapy increases blood flow to the affected area and enhances healing. Cold therapy reduces inflammation. Electric nerve stimulation reduces muscle spasm by sending a tiny electric current to the nerve pathway.
Active treatments by a physical therapist address joint movement, stability, flexibility, strength and posture. A physical therapist will teach you core stabilizing exercises to strengthen the back muscles. You’ll also engage in body muscle exercises to strengthen and condition your body. In addition, a physical therapist will teach you flexibility techniques and proper stretching techniques.
If you have back pain, turn to physical therapy for help. A physical therapist will do a comprehensive exam and review your medical history to determine if you have a herniated disc. Once a proper diagnosis is made, a physical therapist will then create and implement a personalized treatment plan targeted to the affected area. The goal of physical therapy is to help you attain an active and pain-free life. It’s helped thousands of others and can help you, too.
Source:

Monday, July 13, 2020

Product Review: Strongman Log Bar

These barbells are the strongman’s secret weapon. If you are into strength training, you will love these.  If you are looking to train hard for both strength and overall endurance, the log barbell can take you to the next level. Beginners, proceed with caution!

10" Strongman Log Bar | v2Strongman effectively practices traditional strength, and power exercises. One of the more recognizable staple pieces of Strongman training equipment is the log, also known as the log bar. They are a barbell with a huge “log” or what is basically a cylinder for the shaft, with handles conveniently placed in cutouts within the log.

The Titan Log Bars are the ideal tool to develop your abilities in this intense sport. With exercises such as the log clean & press, which requires strength, coordination, and technique similar to the clean and press in Olympic weight lifting, athletes utilize their legs, posterior chain, back, and shoulders as they progress the log from the ground to overhead position.

These Log Bars are constructed of high-quality, heavy-duty steel coated with a black powder finish to make it the strongest and most durable piece of Strongman training equipment in your gym! Shoulder or wrist issues? No problem! These logs have a neutral grip to reduce the amount of stress on both the shoulders and wrists during your log press workout! Along with the neutral grip, the 24" between the grip handles keeps you in a comfortable position with a natural grip so you can put all your energy into training without worrying about any discomfort!

Like most Strongman logs, these have Olympic sleeves with a 2" diameter to accommodate Olympic weight plates, but what sets our logs apart from the competition is the ability to use standard barbell collars (no need for axle collars!).  The logs weigh between 55-115lbs empty and this allows you or your athletes to lift with the log itself - this may be extremely beneficial if you or your athletes are starting Strongman and need to learn proper technique before adding weight. With a max weight load of 500 lb, note that these logs are NOT meant to be dropped directly on the floor, only drop when using crash mats, safety pads, or tires. Proven to be a staple piece in numerous Strongman competition events

Benefits:
  1.  Neutral grip handles. This is a much more anatomically friendly position for the shoulders, and is much less likely to bother the joint during the pressing movement compared to pressing with a pronated grip.
  2.  Instability. Due to its inherently awkward shape and large size, a fair amount of instability is created within the shoulder girdle when the log is pressed overhead. Consequently, this provides a powerful training effect to every muscle that contributes to the stabilization of the shoulder joint.
  3. More fun. Sure, it's great to hoist a loaded barbell above your head, but doing it with a large and more awkward object is even more satisfying.
  4. Carryover to the Bench Press. Although this may not be the case for everyone, some athletes may experience an improvement in their Bench Press as a result of performing the Log Press, as a result of increased shoulder stability and triceps strength from locking out at the top of the movement.
I've been using this log a while now, and I can say of all the brands I've tried either in competition or in local gyms this one by far is my favorite. Here are some of the things that make it my top pick:
  • The powder coating makes the clean smooth, and the log's got good weight to it but not enough that it keeps new folks from using it.
  • The openings for the handles keep my forearms from coming into contact with the edge, preventing forearm bruising that other 10" logs can give me from trying to lever them to help with the clean.
  • Durability is exactly what you'd expect from a Titan  product, I've had to bail more than a few heavier presses from near lockout and there's not even a hint of damage to the implement.
  • Balance on it is also good, which I feel gives me a bit more control when I'm going for a press or split jerk.
10" Strongman Log Bar | v2
For anybody on the edge looking to purchase, you absolutely get what you pay for with pressing implements and I'd buy this one again in a heartbeat

Titan Fitness Product Details:
The centerpiece for Strongman training and competitions is the Log Bar. If you’re looking to improve your physique or just enjoy physical fitness, you’re going to need the proper workout equipment. With our premium weightlifting Log Bar, you’ll be looking like a professional bodybuilder in no time. This unique lifting device is designed by individuals who know what it takes to get the most out of every single workout. An essential addition to your strongman routine, the 10" diameter barrel with loadable sleeves ensures plenty of space for bumper plates. Our neutral hand grips are seated comfortably within the log, and the cutout is more than wide enough to accommodate arms of all sizes. The neutral grip will lower the stress on your shoulders as you press, making your intensive training free of any unwanted pain or residual soreness. The powder-coating paint is scratch, scuff, and rust-resistant — protecting the finish while you knock out presses, cleans, jerks, benches, and rows. The Log Bar’s high-quality steel construction will guarantee long-lasting fitness results for years to come, adding a sleek look to your gym accessories or weightlifting setup. The Titan Log Bar offers an essential piece of equipment at an affordable price and is made to help you work out safely and efficiently. This durable and useful bodybuilding tool is equipped with loadable sleeves on both ends, welded end caps, 1.65” knurled handles, and fits competition plates, so you’ll have everything you need to get ripped quickly. We recommend using a drop pad if your workouts include dropping from overhead. Try Titan Fitness for all your weightlifting and bodybuilding equipment.
  • LOG-STYLE LIFTING: This Log Bar is great for both men and women who love lifting. This innovative log-style weightlifting bar creates a more anatomically friendly position for the shoulders than traditional bars. In addition, this bar is much less likely to bother the joints during the pressing movement compared to pressing with a pronated grip (palms facing away from the body).
  • IMPROVE YOUR FORM: If you’re not lifting weights right, you could strain or injure a muscle, putting you out of the game for months. That’s why we’ve designed this premium log bar. With ergonomic handles, it’s a great addition for home gyms. It has wide openings that will fit any sized arm, so if you are tired of traditional deadlifting and powerlifting, try this metal log bar.
  • BUILD MUSCLE: Get ripped using Titan’s Log Bar! It offers a total of 28 positions, accommodating several different heights and exercises. You can perform a variety of exercises with this log bar, including chin-ups, deadlifts, cross-training, and squats. Place a bench underneath and perform bench presses. You’ll be looking swole and muscular in no time.
  • MADE FROM HEAVY-DUTY STEEL: Steel is renowned for its ability to support heavy loads without bending or bowing. This heavy-duty steel can withstand up to 700 pounds. No matter how many weights you lift, the log bar will offer increased support, especially when muscle fatigue sets in. Trust the powerful Titan Log Bar for all your strength training needs.
  • FEATURES AND USES: This unique training bar is designed to fit competition plates, making it just what you need to get ready for your next Strongman competition. It has welded end caps, and 1.65” knurled handles. In addition, the neutral hand grips are 26” on center, and this bar has fully welded seams for a great fit and finish.




Monday, July 6, 2020

6 Ways Physical Therapy Can Help You Improve Your Physical Health


Physical therapy improves the physical health of people who have injuries, illnesses and medical conditions. An individualized physical therapy program is a conservative approach to managing these types of problems. It improves overall health and well-being.

Six Ways Physical Therapy Improves Health

Reduces or Eliminates Pain

Manual therapy treatments like soft tissue mobilization, ultrasound, electric stimulation and targeted exercises help relieve pain and restore joint and muscle function. These types of methods also help prevent pain from coming back.

Lessens the Need for Surgery

When physical therapy works to heal and reduce pain, the need for surgery is greatly decreased. “For some conditions, including meniscal tears and knee osteoarthritis, treatment by a PT has been found to be as effective as surgery.”

Improves Balance and Prevents Falls

With physical therapy, a physical therapist will screen your risk for falling. Exercises will be given to improve your balance in real-life situations. Assistive devices will be given to ensure safe walking. And if you have a problem with your vestibular system, a physical therapist will perform specific methods to reduce or eliminate the symptoms of vertigo and dizziness.

Improves Mobility

With both passive and active treatments, physical therapy improves mobility. Muscles are strengthened and flexibility is greatly improved. This way you can engage in activities and lead a healthy lifestyle.

Manages Age-Related Problems

With aging, the chances of developing osteoporosis or arthritis are increased. A physical therapist is a trained expert at helping patients recover and manage age-related health problems like osteoporosis and arthritis.

Manages Lung and Heart Disease

Physical therapy is a component of cardiac rehabilitation. To address pulmonary issues, a physical therapist will help improve your health and quality of life through breathing, strengthening and conditioning exercises. Physical therapy also helps clear fluid from the lungs.

Case Study of the Impact of Physical Therapy for Osteoporosis

Clinical studies support the benefits of physical therapy for health conditions like osteoporosis. Osteoporosis is one of the ten most common illnesses. “Patients were recruited from the osteoporosis outpatient clinics of Klinikum Südstadt hospital and the University hospital of Rostock to engage in physical therapy for osteoporosis. Over a period of 3 months, 44 patients with osteoporosis completed a twice-weekly 30-minute intensive exercise program. The conclusion was that physical therapy reduced pain and improved function, with the sling exercise patients benefiting most. The combination of functional improvement and pain mitigation resulted in improved health.”This study is just one of the many proving the health benefits of physical therapy.
With physical therapy, you get an individualized treatment plan to address your challenges, needs and goals. A physical therapist will help you manage pain, improve chronic conditions, recover from an injury and prevent future chronic diseases. A physical therapist will also collaborate with other health professionals to ensure that you get the best of care. Patients are encouraged to be active participants in their treatment plan. All around, physical therapy is designed to improve your health and help you engage in your regular activities.

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

OpEd: Does Your Doctor Even Lift Bro??

Image may contain: text that says 'If your doctor ONLY gives you pain meds & tells you to rest... rest If your physical therapist ONLY performs soft tissue work or electrical stimulation... If your chiropractor ONLY adjusts your spine... You're seeing the wrong person! SQUAT UNIVERSITY' 
What’s your experience with dealing with doctors/PTs/chiros who treat like this?
.
I’m not here to call in to question pain medication, or passive treatments (like soft tissue work or electrical stimulation or even joint manipulation) ... but I am here to challenge the use of those as the ONLY treatment in dealing with an injury. The medical system today is largely broken because we so heavily rely on what professionals do or give to those dealing with injuries. This creates a dependency on those treatments and doesn’t empower the injured person to take control and actively participate in the rehab process.
.
Too many doctors ONLY prescribe pain meds & tell you to take time off. Too many physical therapists, physios & chiropractors rely on passive treatments instead of taking a step back & treating the person in front of them and how they move! Are there good professionals in all of these fields? YES & I applaud those who are taking a stand to change things but I think we can all agree we have more work to do!🙌🏼
.
Now this is also a two way street because as athletes, WE need to quit searching out the quick fix.Sometimes the right approach is a longer process. BUT with the right team in place & the right approach that does not rely ONLY on passive treatments we can hope to find lasting results that keep you lifting and participating in whatever fitness aspirations you have for life.🏋🏼‍♀️

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Safety Squat Bar Review: How it can Help Reduce Injury and Crush PRs

The Safety Squat Bar is one of our favorite specialty bars to use.  This bar is easy on the shoulders, which is especially helpful for powerlifters and those with a limited range of motion. That said, the SSB pretty much decimates every other part of the body.

Often times when people see the name "Safety" Squat Bar, they think the bar is easier to use. That, however, couldn't be further from the truth. So, just so I can put this idea to rest, the Safety Squat Bar is NOT easier than a traditional barbell squat. It's just different, and in some ways, much more difficult.


One of the details of the Safety Squat Bar that makes it quite a bit different from a standard barbell is the camber.

13 Reasons to/NOT to Buy Titan Safety Squat Bar V2 | Garage Gym Built
With a normal barbell, since it is straight (or at least should be,) the weight is directed along the path of where the bar is on your back. With an SSB, the weight is directed wherever the sleeves are in relation to the ground.

The majority of time, what the SSB is trying to do is dump you forward. This forces you to fight by keeping tighter and staying more upright. The people most affected by the SSB are low-bar squatters and it can take them some time to get used to the bar.   The primary benefit from this perspective is that it significantly decreases stress on the upper extremities, particularly the shoulders, elbows, and wrists.

The way the bar is designed, there is a padded section that sits around your neck with two handles extending over each shoulder. This allows you to easily hold the handles directly out in front of your body. There is no need to externally rotate the shoulders, which is something many people have issues with on a traditional straight bar. The length of the handles depends on the bar you purchase and on personal preference.

So if you have shoulder or elbow pain while back squatting with a straight bar, or if you have wrist pain when front squatting, this bar will help you tremendously.


BUT, it's not just the upper extremities that it helps. When squatting with the safety squat bar, your spine position will actually be more vertical. It looks more like a front squat or a high-bar back squat. This positioning minimizes shear forces on the lower back and also allows for improved range of motion through the hips, knees, and ankles.

One thing that is an improvement on the Titan SSB V2 over what other SSB offers is that the sleeves are an Olympic Sleeve, meaning they take standard collars instead of having to use axle collars. This means calibrated plates fit well on the bar without too much play as well. Honestly, all bars should use the standard Olympic sleeve size and companies are starting to adopt this.

13 Reasons to/NOT to Buy Titan Safety Squat Bar V2 | Garage Gym BuiltThe Titan Fitness SSB v2 pad is just right. It's made of a very dense foam that actually looks like really thick carpet padding. The covering has a great feel to it – it's grippy, yet supple. The stitching on the pad is very well done, adding to the high quality look and feel. The velcro used to secure the covering is really strong and it doesn't peel in any direction.

As you use this bar and become stronger, your ability to stay upright under a straight bar is going to be improved. Similarly, you're probably going to be able to hit depth easier with a safety squat bar because it does promote a more ‘sit down, not back' movement. This can also translate well to your straight-bar technique, as you should have a greater range of motion

The biggest and possibly only drawback of this bar is the finish, which is known to flake after sliding plates on and off the sleeves for an extended amount of time. This completely cosmetic issue has no bearing whatsoever on performance. To be fair, specialty bars in general leave something to be desired when it comes to sleeve finishes. Most of them are powder coated, which will also chip and flake, so it’s hard to knock Titan Fitness too hard on this. Still, it’s something to consider if you’re a stickler about such things.

Monday, June 15, 2020

Physical Therapy: The Key to Overcoming Hip and Knee Pain

Do your weight-bearing joints feel more like pain-bearing joints these days? If you have a hip or knee that just can’t support your body weight without causing annoying aches or agonizing pains, you may be unable to perform your job, play sports, handle household tasks, or even find a comfortable sitting or sleeping position. These limitations and frustrations might have you gulping down painkiller or considering joint replacement surgery. Fortunately, many causes of hip and knee pain respond quite well to physical therapy — the natural approach to pain management.

Why Your Hip or Knee Hurts

Your hips and knees do a lot of work over the course of a lifetime. These joints must withstand the majority of your body weight — not just when you’re standing still, but also as you walk, run, climb or jump. It’s not surprising, then, that a variety of ailments and injuries can plague the knee and hip joints. Your pain and stiffness may be caused by:
  • Osteoarthritis – Osteoarthritis is a degeneration of the cartilage that normally keeps the bone ends in a joint from rubbing together. The resulting friction causes chronic pain and inflammation.
  • Bursitis – Both the hips and knees have fluid-filled sacs called bursae that prevent friction between bones and soft tissues. Unfortunately, these sacs can become inflamed from overuse, a painful condition called bursitis.
  • Strains, sprains and ruptures – The knee and hip joints can move thanks to muscles, tendons and ligaments. Repetitive motion or acute injuries can cause a strain (damage to muscles or tendons) or a sprain (hyperextension of a ligament). Athletes are vulnerable to ruptures of the ACL (anterior cruciate ligament).
  • “Runner’s knee” – An unstable kneecap can lead to chronic knee pain. This condition is known as patellofemoral syndrome or “runner’s knee.”
Various health or lifestyle challenges can worsen a case of hip or knee pain. Carrying extra weight is a prime example. A musculoskeletal misalignment or postural imbalance can place unnatural stress on a hip or knee. Lack of exercise can allow the muscles to weaken, setting the stage for chronic strain and joint instability.

Banishing Pain and Optimizing Function through Physical Therapy Techniques

Getting relief from knee or hip pain doesn’t necessarily involve the use of heavy drugs such as opiates or procedures such as joint replacement surgery. Physical therapy can improve your joint function while also easing your pain and stiffness. Our physical therapist can prescribe exercises aimed at addressing your specific condition, such as:
  • Knee lifts
  • Hip rotations
  • Heel-to-buttock-exercises
  • Mini-squats
  • Hip flexion, extension or abductor exercises
  • Leg lifts
  • Hamstring curls
  • Step exercises
Even an activity as simple as walking to help preserve mobility and reduce pain in arthritic knees or hips. Our physical therapist may also recommend that you receive heat/ice therapy, ultrasound therapy, massage therapy, laser therapy, or orthotic footwear to help normalize your musculoskeletal balance.

Get a Leg Up on Your Pain Relief — Contact A Physical Therapist Today

The sooner you seek physical therapy for knee or hip pain, the better. Research shows that patients who rehab their hip or knee pain with physical therapy within 15 days of symptom onset have less need for pain injections, medications or surgical intervention. But whatever stage of pain you’re in, it’s never too late to benefit from physical therapy.
Source: