Tuesday, June 30, 2020

OpEd: Does Your Doctor Even Lift Bro??

Image may contain: text that says 'If your doctor ONLY gives you pain meds & tells you to rest... rest If your physical therapist ONLY performs soft tissue work or electrical stimulation... If your chiropractor ONLY adjusts your spine... You're seeing the wrong person! SQUAT UNIVERSITY' 
What’s your experience with dealing with doctors/PTs/chiros who treat like this?
.
I’m not here to call in to question pain medication, or passive treatments (like soft tissue work or electrical stimulation or even joint manipulation) ... but I am here to challenge the use of those as the ONLY treatment in dealing with an injury. The medical system today is largely broken because we so heavily rely on what professionals do or give to those dealing with injuries. This creates a dependency on those treatments and doesn’t empower the injured person to take control and actively participate in the rehab process.
.
Too many doctors ONLY prescribe pain meds & tell you to take time off. Too many physical therapists, physios & chiropractors rely on passive treatments instead of taking a step back & treating the person in front of them and how they move! Are there good professionals in all of these fields? YES & I applaud those who are taking a stand to change things but I think we can all agree we have more work to do!🙌🏼
.
Now this is also a two way street because as athletes, WE need to quit searching out the quick fix.Sometimes the right approach is a longer process. BUT with the right team in place & the right approach that does not rely ONLY on passive treatments we can hope to find lasting results that keep you lifting and participating in whatever fitness aspirations you have for life.🏋🏼‍♀️

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Safety Squat Bar Review: How it can Help Reduce Injury and Crush PRs

The Safety Squat Bar is one of our favorite specialty bars to use.  This bar is easy on the shoulders, which is especially helpful for powerlifters and those with a limited range of motion. That said, the SSB pretty much decimates every other part of the body.

Often times when people see the name "Safety" Squat Bar, they think the bar is easier to use. That, however, couldn't be further from the truth. So, just so I can put this idea to rest, the Safety Squat Bar is NOT easier than a traditional barbell squat. It's just different, and in some ways, much more difficult.


One of the details of the Safety Squat Bar that makes it quite a bit different from a standard barbell is the camber.

13 Reasons to/NOT to Buy Titan Safety Squat Bar V2 | Garage Gym Built
With a normal barbell, since it is straight (or at least should be,) the weight is directed along the path of where the bar is on your back. With an SSB, the weight is directed wherever the sleeves are in relation to the ground.

The majority of time, what the SSB is trying to do is dump you forward. This forces you to fight by keeping tighter and staying more upright. The people most affected by the SSB are low-bar squatters and it can take them some time to get used to the bar.   The primary benefit from this perspective is that it significantly decreases stress on the upper extremities, particularly the shoulders, elbows, and wrists.

The way the bar is designed, there is a padded section that sits around your neck with two handles extending over each shoulder. This allows you to easily hold the handles directly out in front of your body. There is no need to externally rotate the shoulders, which is something many people have issues with on a traditional straight bar. The length of the handles depends on the bar you purchase and on personal preference.

So if you have shoulder or elbow pain while back squatting with a straight bar, or if you have wrist pain when front squatting, this bar will help you tremendously.


BUT, it's not just the upper extremities that it helps. When squatting with the safety squat bar, your spine position will actually be more vertical. It looks more like a front squat or a high-bar back squat. This positioning minimizes shear forces on the lower back and also allows for improved range of motion through the hips, knees, and ankles.

One thing that is an improvement on the Titan SSB V2 over what other SSB offers is that the sleeves are an Olympic Sleeve, meaning they take standard collars instead of having to use axle collars. This means calibrated plates fit well on the bar without too much play as well. Honestly, all bars should use the standard Olympic sleeve size and companies are starting to adopt this.

13 Reasons to/NOT to Buy Titan Safety Squat Bar V2 | Garage Gym BuiltThe Titan Fitness SSB v2 pad is just right. It's made of a very dense foam that actually looks like really thick carpet padding. The covering has a great feel to it – it's grippy, yet supple. The stitching on the pad is very well done, adding to the high quality look and feel. The velcro used to secure the covering is really strong and it doesn't peel in any direction.

As you use this bar and become stronger, your ability to stay upright under a straight bar is going to be improved. Similarly, you're probably going to be able to hit depth easier with a safety squat bar because it does promote a more ‘sit down, not back' movement. This can also translate well to your straight-bar technique, as you should have a greater range of motion

The biggest and possibly only drawback of this bar is the finish, which is known to flake after sliding plates on and off the sleeves for an extended amount of time. This completely cosmetic issue has no bearing whatsoever on performance. To be fair, specialty bars in general leave something to be desired when it comes to sleeve finishes. Most of them are powder coated, which will also chip and flake, so it’s hard to knock Titan Fitness too hard on this. Still, it’s something to consider if you’re a stickler about such things.

Monday, June 15, 2020

Physical Therapy: The Key to Overcoming Hip and Knee Pain

Do your weight-bearing joints feel more like pain-bearing joints these days? If you have a hip or knee that just can’t support your body weight without causing annoying aches or agonizing pains, you may be unable to perform your job, play sports, handle household tasks, or even find a comfortable sitting or sleeping position. These limitations and frustrations might have you gulping down painkiller or considering joint replacement surgery. Fortunately, many causes of hip and knee pain respond quite well to physical therapy — the natural approach to pain management.

Why Your Hip or Knee Hurts

Your hips and knees do a lot of work over the course of a lifetime. These joints must withstand the majority of your body weight — not just when you’re standing still, but also as you walk, run, climb or jump. It’s not surprising, then, that a variety of ailments and injuries can plague the knee and hip joints. Your pain and stiffness may be caused by:
  • Osteoarthritis – Osteoarthritis is a degeneration of the cartilage that normally keeps the bone ends in a joint from rubbing together. The resulting friction causes chronic pain and inflammation.
  • Bursitis – Both the hips and knees have fluid-filled sacs called bursae that prevent friction between bones and soft tissues. Unfortunately, these sacs can become inflamed from overuse, a painful condition called bursitis.
  • Strains, sprains and ruptures – The knee and hip joints can move thanks to muscles, tendons and ligaments. Repetitive motion or acute injuries can cause a strain (damage to muscles or tendons) or a sprain (hyperextension of a ligament). Athletes are vulnerable to ruptures of the ACL (anterior cruciate ligament).
  • “Runner’s knee” – An unstable kneecap can lead to chronic knee pain. This condition is known as patellofemoral syndrome or “runner’s knee.”
Various health or lifestyle challenges can worsen a case of hip or knee pain. Carrying extra weight is a prime example. A musculoskeletal misalignment or postural imbalance can place unnatural stress on a hip or knee. Lack of exercise can allow the muscles to weaken, setting the stage for chronic strain and joint instability.

Banishing Pain and Optimizing Function through Physical Therapy Techniques

Getting relief from knee or hip pain doesn’t necessarily involve the use of heavy drugs such as opiates or procedures such as joint replacement surgery. Physical therapy can improve your joint function while also easing your pain and stiffness. Our physical therapist can prescribe exercises aimed at addressing your specific condition, such as:
  • Knee lifts
  • Hip rotations
  • Heel-to-buttock-exercises
  • Mini-squats
  • Hip flexion, extension or abductor exercises
  • Leg lifts
  • Hamstring curls
  • Step exercises
Even an activity as simple as walking to help preserve mobility and reduce pain in arthritic knees or hips. Our physical therapist may also recommend that you receive heat/ice therapy, ultrasound therapy, massage therapy, laser therapy, or orthotic footwear to help normalize your musculoskeletal balance.

Get a Leg Up on Your Pain Relief — Contact A Physical Therapist Today

The sooner you seek physical therapy for knee or hip pain, the better. Research shows that patients who rehab their hip or knee pain with physical therapy within 15 days of symptom onset have less need for pain injections, medications or surgical intervention. But whatever stage of pain you’re in, it’s never too late to benefit from physical therapy.
Source:

Monday, June 8, 2020

Product Review: PerformaSleep Mattress

If you're looking for a soft, pillow-like sleeping experience, this isn't for you. But if you're looking for a mattress that offers good support and is still extremely comfortable, this is a fantastic option.

I am a male athlete with a more dense body than the average person- meaning high muscle to body fat percentage. What made me decide on the PerformaSleep brand was the fact that it is targeted to an athlete's recovery.  The first few nights took some getting used to as my coil mattress was very old and out of shape. A few weeks later, I am very pleased and getting great rest. I definitely notice a difference in less stiffness each morning, deeper sleep, and just overall more comfort lying in bed.
The PerformaSleep™ Mattress | PerformaSleep
What makes this mattress different? The PerformaSleep™ mattress was specifically designed for people with an active lifestyle that need to recover fast. The CopperCool™ Technology infused into the top layer of the mattress help dissipate excess body heat, give a variable support, and eliminate any moisture. The PerformaSleep Enersorb™ material also gives you that bounce you need to help you move freely throughout the bed and not feel like you are stuck in a hole as with traditional memory foam mattresses.


The bed is firm, but not too firm, and just soft enough to where I don't feel like I'm laying ON TOP of the bed, but rather slightly enveloped. The foam does not make huge indentions, which is nice because you don't sink in. It will be interesting to see the life of the bed and if it is worth the investment. The way it shapes around you is subtle, but I woke up this morning having slept better than I have in YEARS.

The cover of the PerformaSleep  mattress has a nice soft feel and also provides breathability.  This king mattress does a very good job at not sleeping hot due to the gel foam construction they utilize to help minimize heat retention and didn’t make us feel sticky or sweaty, which is often a problem for us as a couple with some traditional foam mattresses. Much better than most that we have tried by far.

This mattress provides good pressure relief as you sink in quickly to the top layer. If motion transfer is an issue this mattress handles that well. The motion transfer on this mattress is wonderful. I could not feel my spouse move around at night and nor could she feel my movements. It was like we had our own separate beds to ourselves.

One important thing to note is that this is an 11″ mattress whereas most competitors are only 9″ or 10″ mattresses. To me, this makes the bed feel more substantial – and my sheets fit on it better than most beds

Order yours HERE: https://www.performasleep.com/


In Conclusion:
I love this mattress. It really does have a great feel. Firm and supportive but soft and cloud like at the same time. And I do feel better when I wake up after a deep sleep with many fewer aches than my old mattress so there may be something to the athlete/recovery claim. If you are having a hard time making a choice, feel reassured that the PerformaSleep is awesome!


Additional Testimonial From Taylor J.
"I am a night shift nurse who enjoys the high intensity training of crossfit. Being able to sleep is an important aspect for body recovery, especially after a difficult 12hr shift. Previously I had been sleeping on a traditional mattress. When I would go to bed my aching muscles and joints would keep my tossing and turning all night or day. After receiving my PerformaSleep mattress I have noticed a dramatic change in the quality of my sleep. The 4 different layers allow my body to be cushioned and supported simultaneously. Some tradition foam mattresses sink half your body down into them and loose their elasticity over time creating large body indents in the mattress. But the PerformaSleep mattress foam layers hold the body in a relaxing manner without the sinking effect of other foam mattresses. Compared to other foam mattress that tend to trap heat the PerformaSleep allows heat to dissipate, keeping the body at a more conducive temperature for sleeping. Needless to say I have been sleeping deeper and much more peacefully"

Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Improve Your Overall Health with These 5 Stretching Benefits

Some people think that stretching is an unnecessary part of exercising. The truth is that stretching is a necessary component of exercise. According to physical therapists, stretching is an important part of one’s daily routine, whether you’re exercising or not.

The 5 Benefits of Stretching

  1. Stretching specific exercises prior to exercising helps the muscles to achieve maximum range of motion. It also helps strengthen the muscles. That is why during physical therapy stretching is a main focus.
  2. Stretching helps reduce muscle tension. It’s a therapeutic treatment by a physical therapist. You’ll feel the rewards of stretching during your daily routine, walking or lifting.
  3. Stretching enhances joint range of motion. It enables the body part to move easier. For more dynamic movement, stretching increases muscular coordination. Some physical therapy sessions focus on a muscle group instead of just one muscle for stretching.
  4. Another benefit of stretching is increased blood circulation. Muscles require sufficient oxygen and nutrients in order to perform well. Stretching ramps up blood flow and transports oxygen and nutrients.
  5. Lastly, a benefit of stretching is heightened energy levels. The increased circulation increases energy levels. Learning to stretch properly will lead you to a more active lifestyle. “According to results of a new systematic review, moderate-grade evidence seems to support strengthening and stretching exercises to help ease chronic neck pain.”

Types of Stretching Exercises in Physical Therapy

Stretching involves stretching connective tissue, a muscle or a tendon. The goal of stretching is to improve range of motion, flexibility and muscle elasticity. The five most common stretching exercises are:
  • Ballistic
  • Dynamic
  • Static
  • Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation (PNF)
  • Low Load
Ballistic stretch physical therapy is a rapid bouncing motion to stretch a muscle. Dynamic stretching by a physical therapist entails stretching with motion at different speeds and distances. These movements are performed in a controlled and slow manner. Examples include torso swings, arms swings and leg swings. Static stretch physical therapy involved stretching the muscle and holding it for a few seconds. PNF entails holding and controlling techniques to activate specific receptors in muscles. This technique improves muscle length and decreases muscle tension. The low load stretching technique is gradual application of tension to enhance connective tissue remodeling.
A physical therapist will determine the best stretching exercises for your affected area and implement them into your treatment plan. They will also give you home exercises. These stretching exercises may include groin stretches, quadriceps stretches, knee stretches, calf stretches and more. They will also show you how do easy stretches with a towel at home. Knee stretches are very common in all age groups. That’s because knee injuries are common due to overuse or athletic injuries. Activities like running and biking can result in tight quadriceps muscles. Keep in mind that tight muscles can predispose you to injury. If so, quadriceps stretches will be implemented into a treatment plan.

Sunday, May 24, 2020

Memorial Day "Murph" WOD

‘Murph’ is named after Navy Lieutenant Michael Murphy, who was killed in action in Afghanistan June 28th, 2005. He was 29-years-old. After graduating from Penn State University in 1998, Murphy rejected offers to attend law school and instead accepted a commission in the United States Navy and became a SEAL in July 2002. For a man whose nickname was ‘The Protector’, the decision made perfect sense. In fact, when Murphy was in the 8th grade, he was suspended from school for fighting with bullies that were trying to shove a special needs child into a locker. And Gary Williams, author of “Seal of Honor,” a biography of Murphy, recounts a story where Murphy protected a homeless man who was collecting cans from a gang of thugs.

In early 2005 Murphy was assigned to SEAL Delivery Vehicle Team ONE as officer in charge of Alpha Platoon and deployed to Afghanistan. In June of that year, Murphy was leading a four-man reconnaissance team in Kunar province as part of a counter-insurgent mission (the other men in Murphy’s team were Danny Dietz, Matthew Axelson and Marcus Luttrell). During the mission the team encountered a group of local goat herders.

A discussion was held among the four SEALs regarding the rules of engagement and what they should do with the herders, who were being held at gunpoint. Eventually the men decided to release them, but not soon after the SEALs were surrounded and ambushed by an overwhelming Taliban force. Murphy, who was trying to reach HQ via satellite phone, willingly exposed himself to enemy fire by stepping into a clearing where he might get a signal to make the call. Murphy was shot in the back, but still managed to calmly complete the call for reinforcements and return to his position to continue the fight with his men. HQ sent an MH-47 Chinook helicopter to rescue the team, but while attempting to set down in rugged terrain, the helicopter was hit by a rocket-propelled grenade, killing all 16 men on board.

Murphy, Dietz, and Axelson were all killed in action. Luttrell was the only survivor and was eventually rescued after several days of wandering the mountain and being protected by the people of an Afghan village.

We honor Muphy's memory by performing "Murph" every Memorial Day:

Who's Murph? - Copperhead CrossFit"Murph"
For Time:
1 mile run
100 Pull-ups
200 Push-ups
300 Air Squats
1 mile run
*Rx weighted vest 20lbs/14lbs

Friday, May 22, 2020

NEW COURSE ALERT: FMT MOBILITY SPECIALIST COURSE


An evidence-informed self-myofascial release course that advances students’ understanding of foam rolling, massage stick work and mobility ball techniques as rehabilitation and performance interventions.

Ideal for range of motion improvement, performance hacks and athletic recovery enhancement.


FMT Mobility Specialist Course is an evidence-informed self-myofascial rolling course that advances students’ understanding of mobility techniques for their patient’s and client’s needs. FMT Mobility Specialist offers a practical framework and a systematic approach for determining why, how, when and where to roll for movement preparation, movement recovery or pain relief. Assessment systems will be presented examining concepts of joint by joint mobility, stability and fascial integrity. These systems will be utilized to direct fun and innovative lab experiences throughout the course.

FMT Mobility Specialist methodically integrates a review of the current literature and demonstrates the science behind rolling for improved rehabilitation or performance outcomes. Current concepts such as rolling with percussion/vibration will be explored with innovative solutions provided for common movement, performance and recovery challenges. This course is intended for health and fitness professionals with all levels of prior self-myofascial rolling experience.

Functional Movement Training (FMT) Certification courses are taught by industry leading experts in movement assessment, performance and rehabilitation. CEUs may be offered for DC, ATC, PT, LMTs, LAc, OTs and personal trainers – depending on location and class type. Please click on the date/location you are interested in attending to view complete CEU offering for that course.
Rock_Tape02

Educational Objectives of FMT Mobility Specialist
At the conclusion of the course, attendees will be able to:
  • Identify and discuss the history of self-myofascial release/rolling (Self-MFR) techniques.
  • Compare and contrast current foam rolling research studies.
  • Discuss and critique neurological vs mechanical physiological effects of self-myofascial rolling techniques.
  • Compare variables of ‘how’ we roll, including depth, duration and rate of rolling and the effects on the underlying tissue and patient/client outcomes.
  • Compare variables of ‘why and when’ we roll, including for movement preparation, movement recovery and pain relief.
  • Discuss, screen and apply joint by joint mobility and stability MFR techniques to explore a system of ‘where to roll’.
  • Discuss, screen and apply facial chain mobility MFR techniques to explore a system of ‘where to roll’.
  • Discover and experiment with various self-myofascial release application techniques for common complaint locations such as spine, upper and lower extremities.

https://www.rocktape.com/medical/education/mobility-specialist/

Sunday, May 10, 2020

Stand Up to Your Back Pain with Physical Therapy Relief

Most Americans will suffer temporary back pain at some point in their lives. When back pain is not temporary, however, it becomes a major quality of life issue. The good news is that you don’t have to live with back pain permanently. Taking a proactive approach like working with a physical therapist can help you find back pain relief at long last. 

Types of Back Pain

There are three main types of back pain:
  • Acute Back Pain: Acute back pain is the most common type. This is a temporary pain that goes away in less than three months.
  • Recurrent Back Pain: This occurs when acute back pain goes away for a while, but then comes back periodically.
  • Chronic Back Pain: If back pain lasts longer than three months without subsiding, it is classified as chronic.
Back pain is usually not serious and will resolve on its own. Recurring pain and chronic pain, however, can be a sign of a more serious health problem. There is a broad range of potential physical conditions that could be causing your back pain, which include osteoporosis, degenerative disk disease, a herniated disk, fractures or lumbar spinal stenosis.

Diagnosing Back Pain with a Physical Therapist

Your journey with a physical therapist will start with a discussion of your symptoms. Your therapist will also review your medical history for any past injuries or illnesses that could be contributing to your current pain. Your physical therapist will also conduct an exam to assess how you are able to move and function as a result of your back pain.
The diagnosis phase will also involve some tests to find symptoms of more serious conditions. If your physical therapist suspects that there is a serious health condition contributing to your back pain, you will likely be referred to a specialist for more testing. In most cases, this will not be necessary.

Physical Therapy for Back Pain

Once your back pain has been diagnosed, a personalized course of physical therapy will be outlined for you. Treatments for back pain will vary based on the diagnosis, your age, weight, physical ability and other factors. Your course of treatment may include any of the following:
  • Stretching and strength building exercises
  • Manual therapy and spinal manipulation to improve joint mobility and relieve tissue pain
  • Education on how to take better care of your back, such as proper methods of lifting, bending, sitting and sleep positions
  • Hot or cold treatments, or electrical stimulation, for pain relief
  • Posture work to provide better support for your back

Physical Therapy Strategies for Back Pain

Over the course of your work with a physical therapist, your progress will be monitored to ensure that you are recovering. The goal is to eliminate the back pain so that you can live a normal life. A big part of working with a physical therapist is that you will learn strategies for movement and carrying out daily tasks in ways that will prevent the pain from recurring.
For example, your therapist will show you proper posture techniques while you are at home, at work or enjoying leisure activities. You will also learn how to keep up a regular exercise regimen to keep your supportive muscles strong, which will prevent the back pain from coming back. If your weight is contributing to your back pain, you will learn nutritional advice in addition to exercise to control your weight and keep back pain at bay.
The key is to be proactive in standing up to your back pain. If the pain lasts longer than three months, it probably won’t go away on its own.

Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Product Review: Black Mountain Products 20lb Slam/Wall Ball

Product Details:
Black Mountain Products Slam/Wall Ball is a great addition to any workout program. Its soft outer shell makes for comfortable and easy throwing and catching. The design of the exercise ball allows it to maintain shape and balance of the weight for a uniform strength training or cardio workout at any intensity. Soft slam balls range in weight from 4lbs to 25lbs to accommodate anyone from the beginner to an expert in fitness. This is the perfect workout tool for abdominal training and building endurance. Product Review:  Draper's Strength Heavy Duty Pull Up Bands
-Synthetic leather shell maintains durability even with regular use
-All medicine balls measure 14” in diameter
-Maintains a uniform shape and weight balance at all intensity workouts
-Slam Balls range in weight from 4lbs, 8lbs, 12lbs, 20lbs, and 25lbs
-Lifetime warranty on all Fitness Slam Balls   >>> MOST IMPORTANT FEATURE! SLAM AWAY!
My Review:
Medicine ball training is one of the easier ways to improve your endurance, explosiveness, and core strength. Use them for anything from wall ball throws to traditional trunk twists, squats, sit-ups, presses, ball slams and more. BMP Medballs have been battle tested and they've really earned their keep in the day-to-day grind from home gyms to commercial gyms with their life time warranty.

Whether you are using our medicine balls for traditional movements such as wallballs and abdominal resistant work, or feel like blowing off some steam with some slams, I trust the BMP Medballs to withstand any workout you put them through.  The interior filling is substantial enough to help the ball keep its shape over repeated use, but forgiving enough for athletes to safely stop or catch the ball at high velocity.

This medicine ball quality is exceptional, I have used and purchased competitors as well and this one is far superior. Medicine ball is balanced well, has great gripping surface and even warrantied for slamming.  Excellent grip, even when the sweat is pouring. Definitely worth the money, especially compared to competitive brands. The difference, compared to other brands, seems to be in the "catch" for wall balls. The BMP Ball seems more balanced.

Exercises You Can Do With a Medicine Ball
There is a lot you can do with a Medicine Ball. Not only can it be used to build strength but it is also great for perfecting squatting technique, also known as squat therapy:

  • Wall Balls
  • Lunge with Twist or Overhead Press
  • Squat Press
  • Rolling Push-Up
  • Shoulder Press
  • Figure 8
  • V-Up
  • Overhead Slam
  • Use to learn how to clean
  • Use to teach squat and get more comfortable with your squat depth.
  • So much more...
My Rating: 9.5
Does not get better than BMP, their superior quality and attention to their customers. I look forward to purchasing more equipment from them in the future.  The rating is based on the quality I have experienced these past 30 days but also I know if I ever have a problem in the future I will be taken care of!

Order your own Black Mountain Products Fitness Slam Ball for Strength and Endurance Training, 20 lb (click the link) on AMAZON for $33.20!

Monday, April 13, 2020

Get Moving at Home! Tips for Achieving a Full-Body Workout During Quarantine

Just because you’re in the confines of your home during this time, it doesn’t mean you can’t still achieve a full-body workout. Yes, it is true that gyms, workout classes, intramural leagues, and the like are closed/postponed for the time being – but it is still important to remain active and get your whole body moving as often as you can.
While, like many of us, you may not have a home gym or the resources that a fully functioning brick-and-mortar gym may have, there is still plenty you can do at home – you just have to know the right exercises! For a full-body workout that will leave you feeling as if you just had your normal session at the gym or your workout class of choice, follow the exercises below.

5 full-body exercises to feel the burn at home:

Dumbbell Wood Chops. Looking for exercises to do with your dumbbell at home? Dumbbell Wood Chops are a great full-body exercise to get you moving. Begin by holding the dumbbell with both hands above one side of your head. Swing the dumbbell in a controlled motion diagonally down across your body, toward your opposite hip. Use the power from your hip rotation to make this swinging motion. By engaging your back, shoulder, legs, and abdominal muscles, you can feel good knowing that you’re getting the full workout you’re looking for!
Running Man. Are you an avid runner or cycler? When quarantined at home, it can seem disheartening when unable to go outdoors and do the activities you enjoy. Exercises like the Running Man can simulate the feeling of those activities by focusing on the same muscles. Begin by lifting your right leg so that it is parallel to the floor. Bend your arms into proper running positions, with right arm bent in front of your torso and your left arm bent behind your torso. In one motion, extend your right leg so that it is behind you and lean forward with your torso, extending your right arm in front of you and your left arm behind you.
Split Stance Side Plank with Arm Raise. Planks are always a good choice for working out at home, since they are easy to do and great at targeting several muscles at once. With these planks, you’ll be taking your home workouts to the next level! For the Split Stance Side Plank with Arm Raise, begin by lying on one side of your body, propping yourself up with your bent arm on that side. Lift your hips so you are in a side plank position, and lift your opposite arm to the sky. Hold this position for 30 seconds or until you begin to feel tired. Repeat these steps on the opposite side.
Dynamic Hamstring Warm Up. It is important to stretch those hamstrings while you’re stuck at home to prevent them from becoming tight! This exercise will help you do just that. Begin standing up straight. Bend your right knee, and extend your left leg out in front of you so the heel of your foot is to the floor and your toes are to the sky. Bend your torso over your outstretched leg in a 90 degree angle, feeling the stretch in your left hamstring. Repeat these steps on the opposite side, making sure to alternate between each of your legs to get a good stretch on both sides.
Dynamic Hip Flexor Warm Up Straight. This exercise is great for getting your body all stretched out either before or after a workout. It is easy to do and targets several muscles in your body! With this one, you will also begin by standing up straight. Place one foot in front of you in a slight lunge position and reach your arms to the sky. Arch your back and look up to feel the stretch in your back, shoulders, and neck. Repeat these steps on the opposite leg. This exercise is also very helpful to do whenever you are feeling tight or achy in your back, neck, or upper extremities!

Monday, April 6, 2020

Product Review: Neck Hammock


Product Details:
  • DESIGNED AND TESTED IN THE U.S. - Unlike the knock-offs, The Neck Hammock® won't snap or break upon use! Do not risk purchasing the lower quality knock-offs with a high risk of snapping or injury. We believe in our products. That's why we back them all with a 60-day money back guarantee and a 6-month warranty! 
  • USE IT ANYTIME, ANYWHERE - The Neck Hammock® can wrap around any door, railing, or pole, giving you the flexibility to use it wherever you want! Comes with two medical grade straps for customization. Gently stretches, relaxes and rejuvenates neck and shoulders anyplace. Use after a long flight in the hotel room, or after a stressful day of work in the comfort of your own home. All orders include a FREE Eye Mask and Daily Stretching eBook! 
  • GREAT FOR YOUR ENTIRE BODY - Stretching your neck through cervical traction oxygenates your body, increases circulation, decreases pain, improves mobility, and brightens your mood! Not to mention, many of our customers also report a reduction in low back pain and tension headaches! When you realign the spine, your whole body feels it! 
  • RELIEF IN MINUTES - All it takes is 10 minutes a day to properly stretch your neck and relieve your tension! Perfect for men and women in need of better neck, back and shoulder health. The Neck Hammock® doesn’t need any batteries or charging, so you can count on it wherever you go! Easily stores in your luggage when traveling, or simply place in your sock drawer when done at home. Hand washable, one size fits all! Chronic neck pain relief is more convenient than ever! 
  • PROFESSIONALLY DEVELOPED - The Neck Hammock® was created by Dr. Steve Sudell Jr., a licensed physical therapist, with over a decade of experience in physical rehabilitation! Working closely with two expert industrial designers and using his client’s feedback in the clinic, Dr. Sudell spent the last two years creating a perfect blend of simplicity, comfort, and effectiveness for The Neck Hammock®. 


My Review:
I purchased the neck buddy for my girlfriend that is a registered nurse and comes home complaining of neck/back pain. She often spends time stretching and doing what she can to alleviate her soreness so I thought this product might help. Set up was a breeze and it even comes with 2 different length attachments. She has incorporated the neck buddy into her nightly routine and loves it! She says that the product helps to rid tension in her neck and shoulders unlike anything she's tried so far.

For myself, a recent MRI showed some narrowing of the cervical spine, but was not severe enough for doctors to do anything about it. The muscles in my neck and lower back were extremely tight, stiff, and always painful. Many nights it was difficult just rolling over in bed because the lower back muscles did not want to move. Despite trying almost every natural and over-the-counter pain relief cream, none of them worked.

I tried everything to improve the pain including chiropractic adjustments and completing one of the best intensive physical therapy programs in the country. They only helped to a certain degree which was not anywhere near solving the chronic neck and back pain problems. I also tried acupressure and cupping (a Traditional Chinese Medicine technique of using cups to pull the muscles up which only gave temporary relief). I did not know of anything else that could possibly help with the pain.  One day while doing more research online for chronic pain, I stumbled upon the Neck Hammock.  All the reviews I read were amazing and people with much worse conditions than mine were having miraculous improvements.

It is very important to follow the instructions exactly, and to stop and readjust the Neck Hammock if it does not feel like it is in the correct spot (you will feel pain if it is not positioned correctly; I did that a couple times in the beginning).

After using the Neck Hammock, I feel a warm, soothing, relaxing sensation in my neck, shoulders, and lower back. These awesome feelings are from more blood flowing easier into those areas. When more blood can get into those areas, more oxygen and nutrients can also get into the sore muscles to help them heal. The most surprising part for me was that my lower back muscles also improved greatly along with feeling warm and relaxed from more blood flowing into those areas too.

My neck, lower back, shoulders, and scapulas feel like there is more blood flowing into them, there has been a sudden, drastic decrease in pain, the muscles are looser, and I have tons of hope for living without any chronic pain in the near future. The only remaining pain is much different from the chronic pain because it is not severe pain anymore. 

Order your Neck Hammock: 

Monday, March 30, 2020

Telehealth for Patients






In the Rehabilitation World, the Coronavirus or Covid-19 has created a situation where many clinic owners have opted to close their clinics for outpatient Physical Therapy.  One of the results of this is the "Gold Rush" toward telehealth. Telehealth is a way for a client to have a 1:1 virtual treatment between a Physical Therapist and a client.  The first question or concern that comes up, is that it is not hands on, can a virtual appointment really help?  My experience lies in directly treating clients with a hands on approach, whether it be soft tissue work, joint mobilization, or trigger point dry needling to name a few. The hands on work goal is to decrease the nervous system output or simply calm things down, so we can build them back up. The nervous system can be calmed down through exercise.
As a PT, I have provided telehealth visits, and have had good success designing, and in real time taking a client through an exercise program. Recently one client started her telehealth session with 5/10 back pain and by the end had a "trace" of back pain.  

Due to the rapid changes of the pandemic, many insurers are now covering telehealth.

If you are in Colorado, I am presently offering free telehealth visits. Call 720-352-0678 for more information, or email to mkohmpt@neuromuscularstrategies.com


If you are outside of Colorado Google Physical Therapy Telehealth near me.

Sincerely,
Mike Kohm PT

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

The Sickness-Wellness-Fitness Continuum

This whole current epidemic with covid19 can be a scary thing, but how can you/us help to prevent sickness-death if we were to catch a virus that could possibly kill us?
The Sickness-Wellness-Fitness Continuum.
From the numbers I have seen thus far, the vast majority of deaths that have occurred are in those who had some type of chronic disease, which once catching covid19, pushed their immune system to not be able to handle fighting off the virus.

Image may contain: text
“Medicine has no effective treatment for chronic disease: It is symptomatic only. The doctor gives you a drug to bring your cholesterol down, a different drug to raise your bone density. You might need bariatric surgery if you have morbid obesity. If you have paved-over coronary arteries, they can do bypass surgery. If you become glucose intolerant, the doctor can put you on insulin. But all of these are not fixes. They are masking the problem. If you have persistent malignant hypertension, you should take an antihypertensive if you cannot get your blood pressure down otherwise. But how would you get it down otherwise?”
@crossfit holds a uniquely elegant solution to the greatest problem facing the world today. It is not global warming or climate change. It is not the worst two choices imaginable for president. It is chronic disease. The CrossFit stimulus—which is constantly varied high-intensity functional movement coupled with meat and vegetables, nuts and seeds, some fruit, little starch and no sugar—can give you a pass on chronic disease. It is elegant in the mathematical sense of being marked by simplicity and efficacy. It is so simple.”
Mitigate the risk of sickness-death by doing everything in your power to decrease chronic disease and keep your ticker to the right side of the fitness continuum. 👍🏻💪🏻

Wednesday, March 18, 2020

Why Should I Take CBD?


How CBD Functions in Your Body
When we take CBD, it interacts with a regulatory system within our bodies called the “Endocannabinoid System”. This system is pivotal in regulating all sorts of processes that affect our day-to-day experience from boosting the immune system, regulating everything from mood to blood pressure to even how we experience pain or hunger! While we can’t always control the variables that cause us stress in our bodies, we can use CBD daily to make the most of our endocannabinoid system. Give this amazing regulatory body the best chance to succeed!


“So... What does it feel like?”
We get asked this all the time. Simply put, CBD feels different to everyone because everyone is unique. The day-to-day needs of each person’s body are unique. This is one reason why you’ll see one person swearing by CBD to help them sleep while another is praising it as an anti-inflammatory. Because their individual endocannabinoid systems are working to help them with their own unique issues, they’ll each “feel” CBD in their own way!


Using CBD Daily
In our many years of working with CBD and our customers, we’ve seen a pattern emerge. While folks often come to us with a specific need in the beginning that they want CBD to address, many find themselves eventually taking it each day and become very used to the routine. When the product runs out and that daily routine is no longer happening, people tell us they really get an idea for how CBD was helping them. It might seem subtle at first, but the continual effect of CBD in our lives can really make a difference!


Find the Method that’s Right for You!
We make a wide variety of products to keep up with the wide variety of people that use them. Do you prefer the tried and true method of a dropper-full of CBD oil? Our Full Spectrum Daily line of oils should fit you perfectly. Do you like to take your CBD on the go in your vitamin caddy? Check out both of our lines of softgels! Maybe you would prefer to add CBD to your beverage of choice instead of taking it straight? We formulated our Water-Soluble Rapid Delivery 150 just for you. No matter the person, we can find the CBD product that’s right for you!


Post courtesy of Ambary Gardens

Sunday, March 15, 2020

Anxiety and fear during the Coronavirus or a Hockey player trying to be a Buddhist!

As someone who has delved into meditation, and someone who has equally "fallen off the pillow". I find myself in this time returning to meditation. Often, I joke that I am a hockey player trying to be a Buddhist, am by no means any kind of expert.




I have a "beginner's mind"after several years of meditating and my mind jumps from thought to thought as I focus on the breath. The present news is at times overwhelming and changing on an hourly basis. These are truly uncharted waters for our planet. My mind wants to go to that to the anxiety and fear and I feel it attempting to drive my emotions. The amazing aspect about meditation or contemplative prayer is at times you can step back and witness the thoughts and separate from the thoughts and their attempts to drive emotion. The next aspect as this observation is going on is an amazing quietness inside that may last for two-three breath cycles. At times it expands and then contracts and then the thoughts resume.

A question might be is sitting for 30 minutes worth a sense of quietness for a few seconds? I can resoundingly Yes! Sometimes if I am really lucky it is 8-10 breaths for a few times during the sit. The sense of quietness feels like a reboot and the volume on the anxiety drops. At a meditation retreat last weekend the presenter asked us to share, how mediation helps us. As the title implies, the hockey player aspect of my mind, wants to grind and get in the corner an muck it up. Meditation at least that Saturday, provided a witness to the reaction of my mind, and I humbly can say I felt that I was sitting in my own sitcom! The witness aspect allowed a sense of humor regarding reactions that occur! felt like I was in my own Seinfeld episode.

A friend introduced me to a Zen meditator Paul Reps who wrote the book Zen Flesh Zen Bones. Paul Reps was simply known as Reps and he spent summers at the meditation center where I lived. Reps has two favorite sayings that I like "Slow Motion Cures Commotion" and "You Are Your Own Fortune Cookie" Lately I have been thinking of Reps in this challenging time and am trying to slow down and witness the thoughts of my mind, to create a bit of separation. Hopefully by returning to sitting, this is creating the foundation for sense of quiet, even if it is transitory in nature. If nothing else try sitting in a chair for 10 minutes and simply observe your breath. watch the inhale and the exhale, if the mind jumps around return to the breath. In the beginning its not all rose petals falling from the sky, but with a little practice, you will derive great benefit! If you are interested in Zen this is the link to Zen Flesh Zen Bones.

https://amzn.to/2UcvZiw


Another great book, I found to be insightful and funny as well as scientific is "Why Buddhism is True" by Robert Wright


https://amzn.to/2WhemRw

Tuesday, March 10, 2020

If You Have any of These 5 Symptoms, You May Need Physical Therapy.

Physical therapy is a highly beneficial form of treatment that can address many of the most common sources of pain. However, there are many people who don’t realize that the pain they are experiencing is something that can be easily addressed with physical therapy.
If you are experiencing any of the five common symptoms listed here, then it may be time to consult with a physical therapist as far as the best ways to address your pain and discomfort.

1.Back pain.

Back pain is one of the biggest causes of pain among American adults, and there are far too many who struggle with back pain who are not doing anything about it. The reason for the increase in back pain can be blamed on all sorts of different environmental factors, from rising obesity rates to a dependence on computer-based office work that leaves adults in uncomfortable chairs for hours on end, day after day. Physical therapy can help to address the cause of your back pain, and help to alleviate tension in the back, thereby actually reducing the experience of pain.

2.Neck pain.

Neck pain can develop for a series of reasons, including following an injury or car accident, but also as a result of poor posture—and that includes your posture while you are asleep, as well as awake. Neck pain can be difficult to cope with and treat, and attempting to treat neck pain on your own isn’t always safe. An experienced physical therapist can identify the cause of your neck pain and create a treatment program that will alleviate your experience of pain.

3.Headaches.

Regular, recurring headaches are another complaint that can be addressed with physical therapy. In many situations, chronic headaches are a sign of tension in the neck and back, and therefore working with a physical therapist through targeted stretching and massage can in many cases actually reducing the occurrence and severity of these headaches.

4.Joint pain.

Joint pain can develop as a result of arthritis, or as a lasting effect of an injury. The best way to deal with joint pain is to seek support through physical therapy. Your joints are something that you can’t really work around, and in more cases than not, attempting to rely on another part of your body to reduce pain in your joints will only lead you to experience multiple areas of pain.

5.Difficulty with Movement.

There is a long list of reasons as to why someone may be unable to move as effectively or efficiently as they could in the past. In many cases, stroke victims will find themselves unable to take regular steps and walk as they once were able to do, and even after the pain subsides, the difficulty moving may remain.
Likewise, those who struggle with an athletic related injury are often prone to having limited range of motion—and this is especially true following surgical repair of muscle tissue and tendons. Physical therapy can help you to retrain your body for traditional movement.
These are just five of the most common symptoms that can be addressed with physical therapy, but the list goes on and on. Whether you are experiencing pain following a car accident or a sports injury, or have realized that the pain in your back or neck has become more constant than you first expected it to be, it may be time to consult with a physical therapist as to the best way to deal with your pain.

Monday, February 24, 2020

Say Goodbye to Your Stress-Related Headaches

If stress-related headaches are happening so frequently that they are impacting your daily life, it’s time to start thinking about physical therapy for relief. Stress-related headaches, also called tension headaches, are the most common type of headache that impacts people. While they are not as serious as migraines, tension headaches are a sign that something in your body is “off.” A physical therapist can work with you to determine the cause and eliminate stress-related headaches for good.

Causes of Stress-Related Headaches

One of the main causes of stress-related headaches is right there in the name: stress. The headache generally happens when the muscles in the neck or scalp become tense and contract. Depression and anxiety are similar emotions to stress that can also lead to headaches. In addition, there may be a physical cause behind your stress-related headaches. An accident or injury to the neck or back can contribute to headaches. Poor posture and arthritis are two other potential causes.

Diagnosing Your Headaches with a Physical Therapist

Before your physical therapy treatments begin, your therapist will work with you to diagnose your headaches. You’ll need to discuss your medical history with the therapist. If you sustained an injury to your neck, back or jaw years ago, it could still be contributing to headaches to this day. The location where you experience pain, such as in the face, back of the neck or forehead, can also help to diagnose the source.
Your physical therapist will likely run you through some tests as part of the diagnosis phase. For example, your posture will be checked as you engage in several activities. The strength of your muscles and the range of motion in your neck and shoulders will be tested. Your therapist might do some manual therapy to see how mobile your neck joints are. Once the cause of your stress-related headaches is determined, a customized course of physical therapy can be prescribed to treat them.

Physical Therapy for Stress-Related Headaches

The treatment of your stress-related headaches will depend in part on the diagnosis. For example, one course of treatment that would work for correcting your posture and strengthening the neck muscles might not be appropriate if your headaches are the result of a past injury. In general, you can expect stretching and strength training to be part of your treatment. Other options that your physical therapist might employ can include:
  • Soft tissue mobilization
  • Hot and cold compressions
  • Body mobilization
  • Cervical traction
  • McKenzie therapies
Aside from your physical therapy sessions at the clinic, your therapist will also recommend exercises, stretches and lifestyle changes that you can make at home, which will all contribute to eliminating your headaches.

Benefits of Physical Therapy for Headaches

The ultimate goal of your physical therapy regimen will be to eliminate your stress-related headaches. However, in addition to relief, you will gain additional benefits that will likely improve your overall quality of life:
  • Improved Strength: Your therapist will teach you exercises to strengthen your neck and upper back, which will lead to improved posture. With better posture, you will be able to stand and sit longer without experiencing discomfort.
  • Reduced Neck Tension: You will have better range of motion in your neck and reduced tension, thanks to manual physical therapy techniques applied to the muscles there.
  • Better Posture: Bad posture is really one of the leading causes of stress-related headaches. If you don’t enjoy good posture throughout the day, it is likely to lead to more generalized aches and pains, as well as the muscle tension that contributes to stress-related headaches.

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Review of Rocktapes FMT BLADES & BLADES ADVANCED IASTM COURSES

As a PT, I have been performing Instrument Assisted Soft Tissue Mobilization (IASTM) with a tool for a few years now. Rocktape offered the course in denver a couple of weekends ago and I jumped in. The course instructor Stuart Wilson PT was excellent. The science behind the course was refreshing and dispelled what I call medical myths that persist today in the rehabilitation world. One of the first slides he put up was that as therapists we are not changing fascial length! Fascia takes 2,000 pounds per square inch to stretch! That is something to think about when someone tells you they are "stretching your fascia". The course focuses upon making changes through the nervous system input. The IASTM tools that Rock Tape provides are excellent and offer a wide variety of applications. The tools can be utilized to target sensory receptors in the skin, fascia and muscles. As a practitioner is using the tools to work on your muscles, IT Bands, etc the tool is providing a lot of feedback to the nervous system, and can help change the input back to the brain. In PT school and in anatomy in general we are taught systems, nervous, joint, muscle, digestive etc, and as a result we have a tendency to think of these systems as separate entities. The systems all interface with the nervous system and that is ultimately the brain, which is where pain is perceived. The IASTM tools appear to help down regulate an overactive system and are a great way to help an injured area reduce muscle guarding or heightened tone. The tool can also enhance fascia's ability to glide in its respective layers. The course demonstrated this through ultrasound videos. I highly recommend the course and the link for this course can be found at

https://www.rocktape.com/medical/education/fmt-blades/


Mike Kohm PT

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Tired of Your Hip and Knee Pain?

Is it difficult for you to engage in your regular activities due to hip or knee pain? Whether your hip or knee pain occurs when you’re moving or sitting, physical therapy can help get you back to your regular routine. Be sure to call our office for a consult to find out how we can help alleviate your pain. No one should have to live in pain.

What is Hip and Knee Pain?
The hips and knees are the body’s largest joints. They work in close coordination with each for mobility and support the body’s weight. The hips and knees have a demanding task.

The knee is made of several ligaments and muscles and is a complicated joint. Knee pain can wreak havoc on your quality of life. As a matter of fact, knee pain is the second most common cause of chronic pain. The hip joint consists of two main parts: the femoral head and the acetabulum. The femoral head of a ball-shaped piece of bone, and the acetabulum is the socket into which the femoral head fits. Ligaments connect the ball to the socket. Like the knee, the hip is a complex structure. Hip pain can also affect younger people.

Causes and Symptoms of Hip and Knee Pain
Knee pain can be caused by a wide variety of injuries and diseases. It can be the result of auto accidents, recreational activities, sports or a slip and fall. The most common causes of knee pain include:

  • Osteoarthritis
  • Anterior injuries
  • Ligament strains and sprains
  • Overuse
  • Gout
  • Fractures around the knee


In addition to causing pain, knee pain can affect mobility, reduce strength and affect muscle control.

Problems with the hip joint can result in pain in the groin or inside the hip. When the pain is on the outside of the hip, it’s typically due to issues with tendons, muscles and ligaments that surround the hip joint. Hip pain can also be due to:

  • Osteoarthritis
  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Hip fracture
  • Sciatica
  • Sprains
  • Bursitis

With hip pain, you may experience intense pain or the inability to stand.

How Physical Therapy Helps Hip Pain and Knee Pain
A physical therapist will do a gait evaluation, palpate, range of motion measurements, function mobility tests to determine a treatment plan for your hip pain or knee pain.

Different modalities may be incorporated into your treatment plan, such as heat and ice therapy, ultrasound and specific exercises. Research has shown that joint mobilization techniques used by a physical therapist can help with long and short-term pain involving the hip. There is typically an improvement in mobility also.

Monday, February 10, 2020

Product Review: Barbell Apparel

Product and Company Preview:
Your clothing deserves to be better. Hand-crafted from premium materials, our Athletic Chino Pants are built to perform like high-tech athletic gear.

With our omnistretch fabric, these pants will keep your quads comfortable and give you complete freedom of movement with the fashion conscious fit that's made our pants best sellers.

FEATURES: 




  • Technologically Advanced Flexible Fabric 
  • Sits just below the waist 
  • Generous through hips, thighs, & glutes 
  • Straight from knee to ankle 

Barbell Apparel was founded with a simple vision: clothing should be better.

Founded by a team of friends and athletes, we started our story by launching our Athletic Fit Jeans on Kickstarter.

That campaign grew past our wildest expectations, becoming the 2nd most funded fashion project of all time, and sparking a change across the fashion industry to bring "Athletic Fit" mainstream. Since then, we've launched three more successful Kickstarter campaigns, been featured on ABC's Shark Tank, and sold out of our Athletic Fit Havok Polo over 3 times.

Our mission is to inspire you to reach your full potential. Your fitness isn’t about what you do today. It’s the result of what you are willing to do every day. We apply the same relentless dedication to developing our flawless athletic fits and cutting-edge technical fabrics, culminating in high performance, ultra comfortable clothing that is far greater than the sum of it’s parts.

You train hard in the gym. Our clothing works even harder to show it off.  Because when it’s all said and done, the fiercest competitor is rarely the most talented, but always the most disciplined.

My Review:
I had pretty much given up on wearing jeans/khakis due to large glute, quads from baseball causing them to not fit properly in any one pair, relative to my height and waist size . I saw Barbell Apparel on shark tank awhile back and then again at the Arnold Sports festival and finally getting a chance to try them out.  Barbell Apparel was one of the first companies to bring ‘athletic fit’ into vogue with their stretch jeans. They were the second most funded fashion project on Kickstarter and went on to present on ABC’s Shark Tank where they crushed it with their Athletic Fit Havok Polo.

I have been wearing my barbell apparel khaki pants for an extended period of time to test its fit and durability from what is promised during my physical therapy internship as an assistant. I won't be lifting/working out in them by any means but in any case, so far the fit is much better than any other pairs of pants I've ever owned. Mobility increase is huge as well. While I may not workout in them, the flexibility of material allows me to better demonstrate exercises and technique to clients and patients in the clinic with no restrictions. I can run, jump, kick, etc with no restriction of movement. It feels like I'm wearing sweatpants at work.Image result for barbell apparel"

The pants itself are pretty standard as far as design go. They look like regular jeans or khakis, which is exactly the point. The real star of the show is the fabric. A combination of 95% Cotton, 4% polyester and 1% spandex makes the fabric very soft, but more crucially; VERY flexible. Normal jeans/pants have no give what so ever, resulting in the above mentioned constricted legs. But the Barbell Apparel products stretch in all the right places while staying in check in places where no stretching is required like calves or ankles for example.

This means complete freedom of movement, which is almost a liberation for someone like me who always had to watch out with movements. No more worries though, these khakis allow you to squat, bend, lunge, twist and swing any way you want to, without ripping open. Demonstrating how to pick something up from the floor is no longer an issue as the pants move with you and allow full ROM.

All pairs come in a 34” length inseam which is common for luxury brands but note, men’s legs do not come in increments of 2”.
They will set you back $135 (after using my promo code "jones19" for 10% OFF!) plus shipping, which is certainly not cheap. But if you look at jeans from other established brands that are not fitness friendly you could easily be spending that kinda money, so while not cheap the value is certainly there. Since I will be wearing the same khaki pants every day during my next 8 week clinical rotation, I will have to wait to comment on durability, which is the biggest question mark, but I see no reasons, after wearing them several times the past month, to be alarmed.


My Rating: 9.2/10
The jeans from Barbell Apparel are exactly as advertised and provide all the benefits of wearing jeans without any of the drawbacks in a, in my opinion, stylish package. These pants fit perfect, look great and also feel so comfortable. The second you try them on you will never want to wear any other pants. My rating is based on the wait to gauge durability and the slight price barrier that may prevent some consumers to be able to afford such awesome pants!

Be sure to check them out at http://barbellapparel.com?rfsn=540907.db481