Thursday, November 14, 2019

PT Pathologies: Anterior Cruciate Ligament Sprain - Grade III

In the United states, ACL sprains seem to be one of the most discussed diagnoses.  A grade 3 sprain is considered to be a complete tear of the anterior cruciate ligament.  This major source of stability is located where the end of the femur meets the top of the tibia.  This ligament is in the middle of the knee and prevents the tibia from sliding in front of the femur.  There are many diverse ways to sprain an ACL, such as getting hit from the side as one would in football, overextending the knee joint and quickly stop moving or changing direction while running.

        At the time of the injury, one might hear a popping sound.  Within the next 6 hours the knee will begin to swell and pain, especially with bearing weight, will commonly occur.  To diagnose an ACL sprain, during the physical exam the doctor will check the patient's knee for swelling and tenderness.  Also, the injured knee will be moved in a variety of positions to test the patient's range of motion and function of the joint.  A physical exam can diagnose an ACL tear alone, but X-Rays, MRI's and Ultrasound may be used to determine the severity.  Three contributing factors to an ACL sprain are biomechanics, the way one's body moves, muscular imbalances, which includes females who have stronger quads than hamstrings, and finally overtraining.  Combining all three creates a very high chance that the individual could potentially be lead to an ACL injury.

        When dealing with patients who are trying to overcome an ACL sprain, it is quite common that they will be very motivated.  Typical patients are usually athletes and will work harder than other age groups to return to their sport.  If an individual grade 1 (partially stretched) sprains their ACL it is possible that the injury will progress to a Grade 3 (complete tear) with continued stress and vigorous exercise.   Treatment without surgery to repair an ACL sprain would include a specific program, use of an electrical stimulation machine to fire the quadriceps muscle, and strength.  Treatment after surgery will include icing and compression, exercises to increase patient's ability to move and strength.

        Approximately 200,000 ACL injuries occur a year and half of those patients require surgery.  Directly after surgery, Physical Therapists typically give the patient a list of home exercises.  While at the rehabilitation center, patients will be guided through weight bearing exercises and gradually will be able to walk without crutches and return to normal gait.  After this is achieved the therapist will incorporate exercises to improve balance, running and jumping.  The main goal  with this type of patient is to help them return to their sport as soon as possible but regarding all limitations.  After pain and swelling is completely gone and feelings of instability have diminished, therapists usually release their patient to return to sports and regular activity.

Monday, November 11, 2019

The Natural Way to Treat Arthritis Pain – Without Medication

There are numerous different types of arthritis that people experience – in fact, the term “arthritis” is used to describe over 100 different types of joint pain and joint disease that millions of people suffer from. Arthritis is known to affect the elderly since it becomes more apparent with age; however, it is also possible for people to experience arthritis in their early middle age.

A study published in the American Journal of Sports Medicine states that elite male athletes are at a higher risk of developing arthritis than the rest of the general public. According to the study, approximately 30% of elite male athletes who engage in contact sports will eventually develop arthritis in the knees and hips. This is because advanced athletes who participate in contact sports experience a quicker “wear and tear” on the joints, due to continuous overexertion. 

Common types of arthritis:
  • Osteoarthritis. Osteoarthritis is the most common type of arthritis. This condition develops through a reduction in joint cartilage. This typically occurs gradually, through the natural “wear and tear” of age, but it can also occur from other factors, such as continuous repetitive motions. When cartilage wears down, the bones begin to rub together, causing friction, swelling, and pain.
  • Rheumatoid arthritis. Rheumatoid arthritis, also referred to as inflammatory arthritis, is the second most common type of arthritis. This condition develops as a response from your body’s immune system. When the joints are seen as a “threat,” the immune system will attack the tissues surrounding them, causing intense inflammation. Rheumatoid arthritis is thought to be linked to genetics, so you may be at a higher risk of developing it if you have a family member with the same condition.
  • Metabolic arthritis. Gout is the most common type of metabolic arthritis, typically developed as a result of reduced kidney function. Gout causes a buildup of uric crystals in the joints of the extremities, and it is most common in the feet.


How is arthritis treated?
Many physicians prescribe medication to manage pain caused by arthritis. Your physician may prescribe NSAID pain relievers, antibiotics, corticosteroids, or antirheumatic drugs for your arthritis treatment. However, medication is not always entirely helpful.

It’s no secret that medication is easy – all you have to do is pop a pill in your mouth, chase it with water, and wait for your pain to subside. But it’s also no secret that medication can cause some nasty side effects – and, in some cases, they can become habit-forming. For example, with NSAIDs, you run the risk of blood clots, heart attack, or stroke. With corticosteroids, you run the risk of cataracts, high blood sugar levels, and bone loss. Fortunately, physical therapy is a healthier, safer, and natural way to treat arthritic aches and pains.

If you have been suffering from arthritis and you’re looking for a natural relief, call our office today. We’ll set up a treatment plan for you that’ll kick those harmful drugs to the curb!
Getting help through physical therapy:

When treating arthritic symptoms, the main goals of a physical therapist are to reduce pain, increase strength, and preserve range of motion. Just a few of the many benefits of working with a physical therapist include:
  • Stretching/exercise. Stretches and light exercises will help increase your range of motion in the affected area(s).
  • Proper posture. Maintaining a proper posture will help to reduce stress on your joints.
  • Rest. Your therapist will also recommend a schedule for rest and sleep to complement your exercises. This helps the body to heal and will hopefully reduce your amount of arthritic inflammation and pain.
  • Weight control. Your physical therapist will work with you to control your weight through exercise and diet. Controlling your weight helps to prevent added stress on weight-bearing joints.

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

WOD Wednesday #113

Complete as many rounds as possible in 15 minutes of:
400-m run
15 body-weight deadlifts




This is a high pace medium effort. We want you to scale so that you can run at a high pace, and the deadlifts are unbroken. Visualize this for today: you never stop. You might slow down a tad when approaching the bar, but there is no stop. If you manage to do this the number of rounds you get will be fine whatever it is. If you need a target, try to get as far as you can into that 7th round. No matter what, today's mantra is: always moving, always pushing. Keep in mind this: today in both movements you are just moving your body-weight. If you were to run the same distance that you deadlift, the run would be SO easy even though is the exact same weight. The difference in the perceived difficulty is not on the bio-mechanics themselves. It is simpler. In the run gravity is working in your favor, in the deadlifts it is completely against you. ... Duh! I know. This is all but a reminder that running is a technical thing, and if you learn to fall better, it becomes so much easier. Today is a good opportunity for that. Practice your technique and use the feedback of the soreness in your hammies to make sure you are pulling the leg with the right muscles.

Friday, November 1, 2019

Product Review: GymNext Flex Timer Gym Edition

Product Details
This is the timer your coaches and members have been asking for!

The GymNext Flex Timer combines a large, crystal-clear LED display with an easy to use interval timer app creating the best, most powerful gym timer ever made.

The 4.0" LED digits (same as the Rogue Echo or MDUSA No Limits timer) in blue/red are visible from hundreds of feet away and the 95db buzzer is extremely loud. With bluetooth range of over 100 feet, you aren't tethered to the clock. Move throughout the facility and easily control and setup the timer from our convenient and FREE mobile app.

You can save an unlimited number of custom workouts spanning 6 different timer modes: Standard, Round, Interval, Tabata, EMOM and Laps. Configurable prelude times, round warnings, and a 3-second segue between rounds are just the beginning of the options available to create the most customized experience ever.

The audio sync feature allows you to use a wired or bluetooth speaker to augment or replace the timer's built in buzzer. Play your music from your phone and now you can listen to your music as loud as you want. The app will automatically fade the music in and out at the end of each round so that you never miss an indicator again.

Large gyms will love the ability to link multiple timers together and have them display the same workout or run the timers separately to easily manage different workouts or heats. And the included wall brackets make mounting your clock a breeze.

For the utmost convenience, go hands-free with a Pebble timepiece or Apple Watch. You'll enjoy the natural feeling you get from initiating the timer from your wrist just like a stopwatch.

For the data lovers and elite athletes, integrate heart rate monitoring into your workouts and have your heart rate periodically or permanently display on the clock so you know how hard you're working and can set a proper pace.

When not in use for timing purposes, the Flex Timer reverts back to a 12h or 24h clock.

But there's even more...

The Flex Timer app is updated all the time unlocking new features and functionality so that your timer actually gets even better with age.


My Review:
I avoided purchasing a clock for my gym too long. Didn't think it was necessary. I was constantly using my phone timer, an app, a stop watch, or even a stop watch website on my computer.  But after using my GymNext clock I can't imagine a workout without it. It is easy to use, not a distraction, and infinite programming possibilities for any type of workout.

I like that you can set up a custom welcome message and that the timer automatically takes local time from your phone. Be aware that the timer will only connect with one phone at a time. This means that if someone was using the timer and you go to connect with your phone, you won't be able to connect. In a big gym setting this would mean you have to reboot the timer or hunt down the person who retains control.

I researched a number of cheaper alternatives but what makes this worth the price is the app. The timer easily connects to your phone and then you can create whatever type of timer you need. Plus the built in timers make it easy to quickly get started, or you can edit them if need be.
The app works flawlessly with the GymNext Flex Timer application. Connection to the timer is so simple a monkey could do it. Everytime I open the app, it connects immediately with zero lag. It's programmable to every interval training mode known to man and has loud audible beeping that can also be programmed to discretion. It does not interfere with music and once the timer is going, you can still use your phone normally as long as the app is running in the background. It connects to a heart rate monitor and can display your heart rate periodically to your discretion. This is extremely helpful especially when you're trying to maintain a certain heart rate zone.

Bottom line, this timer is outstanding in value, usability, build quality and customer service. I've contacted their friendly customer service to tell them how impressed I am with their product and you can tell they are a Just as excited as you will be once you get your hands on it.

- Very bright numbers (I actually use the reduced brightness setting)
- LOUD (I put tape over the buzzer and it is still highly audible)
- App supports any imagineable interval combination
- Kid-safe as there is no remote to play with, damage, or hide
- Robust construction with top and bottom aluminum profiles / extrusions
- Wide-range input power supply for worldwide use

No more fumbling with an awkward remote control. Competitive price superior functionality = unbelievable value. If you're on the fence about this one, do yourself a favor and pull the trigger on the purchase, you won't be disappointed.


I must say it's even more impressive than I thought! Easy to use, 110-220V global electricity support, fast connection to iPhone, ample phone-to-LED display connection range even without the need for line of sight, straightforward LED display design, clear/visible display and audible alarm for large gym. The best timer in my opinion all around. My only critiques are not being able to sync multiple phones and not being able to adjust the beep volume.

It was pretty cool to see the time update instantly once I connected my phone to the clock and when I open the app, the response is quick, accurate and makes everything so hands free. The app user interface is easy to use and quick to learn. Additionally, if I have music playing from my phone, the app automatically quiets the music for the 3-2-1 countdown and then cranks back up for the WOD. What I love about this clock is that it doesn't take time away from my workout time. I don't know it's there until I use it, and when I'm done, it's done. Goes right back to clock time until I need it again.

Order your GymNext Flex Timer!

Monday, October 28, 2019

PT Pathologies: Adhesive Capsulitis

Adhesive capsulitis, also known as frozen shoulder occurs in individuals when the connective tissue surrounding the shoulder joint, known as the shoulder capsule, becomes thickened and tight.  Stiff bands of tissue called adhesions develop.  As these adhesions form, they cause pain stiffness, and loss of motion in the shoulder.  There are two types of adhesive capsulitis, primary and secondary.  Primary AC occurs spontaneously, while secondary is the result of an underlying condition.  This pathology tends to be a more common occurrence in individuals with diabetes, thyroid issues, Parkinson's disease and heart disease.  The typical age range for individuals to experience frozen shoulder is 40-60 years and is more commonly seen in women.

Adhesive capsulitis occurs gradually and in three stages, also known as the freezing stage, frozen stage, and thawing stage.  The freezing stage can last anywhere from 6 weeks to 9 months.  This stage is characterized by a continual increase in shoulder pain and a decreased range of motion.  In particular, the patient has trouble with shoulder abduction and external rotation.  During the frozen shoulder stage patients can actually experience less pain due to even less ROM and can last from 4-6 months.  The final thawing stage, is characterized by slow improvement in shoulder range of motion.  Recovery or return to normal strength can take anywhere from 6 months to 2 years.

Physical therapy is the most common treatment for frozen shoulder.  Once the stage is identified the PT will set up a plan of care tailored to the patient.  If the patient is in the "freezing stage" the PT will assist in maintaining ROM and reducing pain.  when in the first stage, it is normal for the PT to utilize a combination of stretching and manual therapy techniques to increase ROM.  Ice and heat can be used during this time to help relax the muscles before treatment.  An individualized HEP is normally given to the patient to reduce loss of ROM.  During the frozen stage PTs will be concentrating on gaining back the lost ROM.  In this stage the PT will use more aggressive stretching techniques and manual therapy.

In Summary:

  • Occurs more in the middle aged population with females having a greater incidence than males
  • Arthrogram can assist with diagnosis by detecting decreased volume of fluid within the joint capsule
  • Range of motion restriction typically in a capsular patter (External rotation > abduction > internal rotation)

Friday, October 25, 2019

Is Arthritis Paining You? Physical Therapy Can Help

If you have arthritis, you know how debilitating it can be. It affects millions of people and is the most commonly reported chronic illness across the nation. Arthritis is a disorder of the joints that causes them to become inflamed. The inflammation causes the pain and stiffness that you feel, and it can result in a loss of movement if the joints become too inflamed. There are over 100 different types of arthritis, containing monoarthritis (where only one joint is affected) and oligoarthritis (where multiple joints are affected.) Some of the most common forms of arthritis are osteoarthritis, which develops from “wear and tear” of cartilage, and rheumatoid arthritis, which develops from overactive immune systems.


Arthritis can hinder many qualities of life – from work, to hobbies, to overall mobility. Some people are so affected by arthritis that they are unable to work and have to go on disability. Physical therapy is a safe, healthy, and effective way to treat arthritic pain.


How do I know if I have arthritis?
First and foremost, if you believe you may be suffering from arthritis, you should contact your primary care provider. He or she will provide a thorough evaluation, looking for signs of disease, such as inflammation and/or deformity. They will review your symptoms, and may administer any blood tests, urine tests, joint fluid tests, or x-rays as they deem necessary. If you are diagnosed with arthritis after these tests, your doctor will create a treatment plan for you, in relation to the location and severity of the condition. This treatment plan may include rest, exercise routines, and medications as necessary.

It is very likely that you will also be referred to a physical therapist to help guide you through your exercise routines, in order to measure progress and make sure that you are completing your physical activity in a safe and correct manner. Early diagnosis can be helpful in avoiding joint damage and disability, so it is imperative that you contact a doctor as soon as you think you may be developing arthritic symptoms.


How will physical therapy help me?
While there is unfortunately no known cure for arthritis, there are plenty of ways to help ease the pain that you may feel from it. Physical therapy is a proven aid in arthritic pain relief. It is effective and noninvasive, and in many cases, it can even eliminate the need to rely on harmful pain medication. According to the Arthritis Center at Johns Hopkins,

“Physical activity is essential to optimizing both physical and mental health and can play a vital role in the management of arthritis. Regular physical activity can keep the muscles around affected joints strong, decrease bone loss and may help control joint swelling and pain. Regular activity replenishes lubrication to the cartilage of the joint and reduces stiffness and pain. Exercise also helps to enhance energy and stamina by decreasing fatigue and improving sleep. Exercise can enhance weight loss and promote long-term weight management in those with arthritis who are overweight.”

A physical therapist will custom-tailor a treatment plan surrounding your needs, in order to increase your strength, range of motion, and mobility. This will include the affected area, as well as any surrounding areas that may contribute to the pain. For example, if your arthritis is in your knee, your physical therapist may create a treatment plan that focuses on the knee, in addition to the hips, ankles, and lower back, since all of these areas may affect the movement of the knee.

Your physical therapist will most likely suggest manual therapy, in order to improve joint and soft tissue mobilization. Your treatment plan may consist of any combination of treatment services, including ice and heat therapy, deep tissue massage, or electrical nerve stimulation. All of these treatments are passive modalities that work to reduce pain and inflammation, in addition to increasing blood flow and mobility.

Monday, October 21, 2019

Product Review: RAGE Fitness 20lb Slam Ball

Product Details:
The no bounce heavy duty rubber shell makes the Slam Ball perfect for intense slamming and throwing routines.

Strengthen your core, improve your conditioning, and increase your explosive power with one piece of equipment. Ideal for cross training, core exercises, plyometrics and cardio workouts.

  • Encased in an ultra-durable, heavy-duty rubber shell
  • Rage slam ball is high endurance impact approved and performs in ways a medicine ball cannot
  • Textured surface allows for a high quality grip even when wet
  • No bounce design proves to be ideal for various throwing and slamming routines
  • Equipped with an air valve making it possible to adjust the air capacity and overall firmness
  • 1” low bounce rating
  • 10-35 lb are 10" in diameter
  • 40-50 lb are 11" in diameter
  • 60-80 lb are 12" in diameter
  • 90-100 lb are 14" in diameter
  • Industry best 1 year warranty



Product Review:
The RAGE Fitness Slam Ball has a textured surface to provide a better grip during your workouts. The weight values (LBS) are green on a black gloss surface for easy viewing when looking for the size that you need.

Overhead medicine ball slams are great for working the entire body and for releasing some aggression, but they tend to take a toll on the medicine ball itself. Enter the RAGE Slam Ball specifically designed and tested by myself to withstand an onslaught of abuse!  Slam balls are used to enhance your workout routine by simply holding it while performing exercises. Examples of these include sit-ups, squats, lunges and overhead presses; when working with a partner you can do chest passes, overhead passes, and abdominal work through rotation variations. Slam balls can also be used for athletic training by enhancing cardiovascular endurance, increasing muscle mass and improving hand-eye coordination. Perfect for getting rid of excess energy and pent-up frustration.

Cross training is founded on innovation and variety – and our slam ball helps transform your WODS and quickly advance cross training levels, all while letting you reap all of its benefits with unprecedented ease.  Slam ball workouts tone the cardiovascular system, enhance circulation and dramatically improve your strength and endurance. By moving at a high speed, you push your body towards producing more power – and FAST.  Slam balls add a layer of resistance to exercises which traditionally rely on bodyweight. They naturally increase muscle mass and improve posture and balance, through aiding in regulating movement patterns. Simply the highest quality slam balls on the market. and backed by a industry best 1 year warranty!

Available in weight increments from 10 lbs up to 100 lbs, these rubberized, dead-bounce Slam Balls can benefit athletes of any size and skill level or for traditional medicine ball exercises, as well. I have been working with a 20lb slam ball and as a 185lb 5'11 male it presents a challenge! I would definitely not use this for wall balls but what I like about this ball is it gives a whole new meaning to Ball Slams (having a much more challenging load picking up with every rep) and long distance running carries.

This slam ball is well constructed and just slippery enough (I would prefer a slightly grippier ball, which they offer on their site) that it forces you to apply additional grip to maintain adequate control. It is an excellent tool for a near complete functional movement total body workout out. It has very little bounce which forces one back into the squat position to retrieve it for your next rep.


I have been using it now for a few weeks and its perfect. Plus I feel like this thing will be around for a long time, it feels heavy duty and well built. It's obviously a smaller diameter than the Med-balls when doing Wall Ball workouts which is the only complaint (dead bounce slam balls do not work as well as wall balls for that particular movement) plus you can't beat the price.

In conclusion:
Quality: The quality of this product is great. I have used the ball with several clients over the last month and it has been slammed from overhead over 1,000 times easily. The ball shows no sign of wear or leakage whatsoever. The ball is just as good as when it came new.

Overall any of RAGE Fitness slam balls will compete with any slam ball on the market and I would feel 100% confident using them in a commercial gym, private studio or home gym. I plan on buying more and would recommend them to anyone. Like mentioned above, my only critique remains that its use as a wall ball is possible, however not ideal.

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

WOD Wednesday #112

3 rounds for max reps of:
  • 1 minute of burpees
  • 1 minute of wall-ball shots
  • 1 minute of deadlifts
  • 1 minute of med-ball sit-ups
  • 1 minute of hang power cleans
  • Rest 1 minute

♀ 14-lb. ball, 75-lb. deadlifts and cleans
♂ 20-lb. ball, 115-lb. deadlifts and cleans




This workout is awesome. It is based on Fight Gone Bad, and the stimulus we are looking for is pretty much the same. "We designed this workout so that we move at one activity for one minute. And just at the point when the localized muscular endurance would be a significant factor, we cut and shift gears into a different movement" (Glassman). Your task is to commit to working for the whole minute, the only rest you get is the transition to the next station. Your scaling should try to match this objective. Pick loads that will not stop you. We want you on that line where your body wants to stop, but your mind knows you can keep going. That is it, there is nowhere to hide here! Don't hide!

Monday, October 14, 2019

PLANTAR FASCIITIS: WHAT HEEL SPUR?

One of the most common complaints of the foot is plantar fasciitis. But what is it and what causes it? Fascia comes from the Latin word for band which is appropriate as the plantar fascia is a band-like material that runs from the heel to the base of the toes. Plantar fasciitis is essentially inflammation of this fascia. It is a fairly prevalent condition in runners and casual joggers and can lead to perceived pain at the bottom of the foot and heel.


Typically when one thinks of plantar fasciitis the word heel spur comes to mind. A heel spur is a bony overgrowth at the bottom of the foot that most people think either causes plantar fasciitis or vice versa that plantar fasciitis causes the spur. However, recent research has shown this is not the case. A study on 22 different heel bones with confirmed spurs showed that spurs formed at the origin of a muscle known at the bottom of the foot known as flexor digitorum brevis, not the plantar fascia.

So what does this mean for people that have plantar fasciitis? It is not what is causing the heel spur and it can be managed by activating the right muscles! A great exercise to perform if you think you may have plantar fasciitis is the lift, spread, and drop exercise. Start by lifting your big toe off the ground without lifting the rest of the toes and then dropping it back to the ground. Then try lifting the other toes, spreading them a part, and bringing them back down. To progress this exercise, try lifting each individual up and down to strengthen your foot muscles and keep you pain free!

If this exercise does not work for you, then it may need to be modified to ensure proper activation of the foot musculature. Several treatments exist to assist in doing so, including activating the muscles in stable positions with Dynamic Neuromuscular Stabilization (DNS) as well as increasing foot mobility with manipulation, Active Release Technique (ART), Cupping and Instrument-Assisted Soft Tissue Mobilization (IASTM) and decreasing inflammation within the fascia using Dry Needling.



Share this article with someone you think may have plantar fasciitis symptoms and encourage them to schedule with a PT to stay active and keep that foot pain away!

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Physical Therapist Assistant Resume Sample

Writing a great Physical Therapist Assistant resume is an important step in your job search journey. When writing your resume, be sure to reference the job description and highlight any skills, awards and certifications that match with the requirements. You may also want to include a headline or summary statement that clearly communicates your goals and qualifications. The following Physical Therapist Assistant resume samples and examples will help you write a resume that best highlights your experience and qualifications. 


Sofia Flores

St. Paul MN • (123) 456-7891
sflores@email.com

SUMMARY


Highly trained physical therapist assistant with 3+years experience to work with a rehabilitation team at a skilled long-term care facility where the caseload consists of mostly elderly adults with a high percentage of patients that return to their homes.

EDUCATION


Northwest Vermont University
Sep '10 - Dec '14
Physical Therapy/Human Development

EXPERIENCE


River Tech Clinical Residence, Physical Therapist Assistant
Feb '15 - Current
  • Assesses and directs physical therapy services for residents for strengthening and conditioning
  • Directs classes in back-injury protection, wound care, and orthotics
  • Conducts aquatic therapy programs for increased focus on transitioning to wellness through alternative methods of rehabilitation
  • Implements the course of care for each patient based on the instructions of the physical therapy team
Cloud Clearwater Physical Therapy Center, Physical Therapist Assistant Internship
Current - Current
  • Coordinated with physical rehabilitation team to implement individual and group-based activities based physical needs
  • Communicated with patient families and caregivers to demonstrate the proper implementation of treatment plans
  • Provided physical therapy team with updated documentation on all the patients treated

SKILLS


  • Planning Health Care Treatment
  • Health Services

Monday, October 7, 2019

Treign Apparel


“Treign active wear was established in 2016 for athletes committed to pursuing their passion and overcoming obstacles to achieve their goals. Treign is one of the fastest growing new athletic apparel companies in the United States. Created by athletes and coaches, Treign athletic apparel is designed for maximum performance while maintaining comfort and style. Treign’s versatility allows for exceptional wearability, whether you’re crushing it on the court or cheering from the stands. We use high-quality materials and clean designs to convey the theme of the dedication it takes to pursue your dreams.
Image result for treign apparel logo
Our motto at Treign is “Commit, burn the ships!” Alexander the Great and Hernan Cortes supposedly gave this command to their men when they charged into their conquests so that retreat was not an option. At Treign, we believe that every hero’s story starts with a commitment to be victorious and to burn the ships.
Our company is dedicated to helping others pursue their dreams and overcome obstacles, and we believe it is extremely important to give back. 10% of Treign athletic apparel profits are donated to groups that provide food, clothing and shelter to those in need.”



What do I think? I Love the color, designs and fit of the products I’ve trained in from Treign.  I’m starting to see more and more Treign shirts popping up on athletes and at events. Excellent shirts for active CrossFit workouts and functional fitness training sessions. Their stuff is for active and fit bodies so be aware of that if you are wanting to try to find something that has a little more of a loose fit, you might want to consider going up a size. The length on their shirts is great and stays in place during workouts. This is a lighter material shirt which is going to be even more awesome when the temps here in the midwest climb up into triple digits this summer. I love the company’s philosophy and their mission and the fact that they are giving back with a portion of their sales going to charity, this company and their shirts are a can’t miss in my opinion. In addition, Treign has just release new shorts with pockets!

Women’s Capri: 
Black workout capri, a staple to any woman’s wardrobe. This capri boast function as well as finesse.  It is made from comfortable sweat wicking material that conforms well to the body without being to tight or to loose. It had many perks I would not have expected from a newer brand. They made sure to include lots of small tech details including reflective print on the legs, a posterior stash zippered pocket, as well as a drawl string for that perfect customized fit to hold well during any movement. Overall I have really enjoyed running as well as Crossfit in my new treign running capri.


Treign Womens Shorts:  
The Spartan Shorts or compression shorts are perfect for the workouts that set your body on fire. They are elastic and have the right amount of stretch, I felt that these fit true to size and run similar to other brands I have tried in this style. They have a wide waist band with a 3in inseam. The material used is very comfortable, breathable, and sweat wicking. The color options are awesome and vibrant, but they have the neutrals color palate as well. They also have one of the quick stash pockets set into the front part of the waistband for small items. These are great performing workout shorts to keep any athlete dressed for success.


Treign Tanks:  
Comfortable and breathable looks great for works and the fourth of July! Great colors leave. Fits comparable to other athletic brand tank tops. It is a slightly loose fit that gives you enough room for all types of crossfit or lifting movements. The racerback features the white Treign logo with a red himantes symbol on the front with “USA” in red on the back.

Treign Shorts:
These shorts are light, airy, and extremely comfortable to wear. The shorts have a flattering fit, but not uncomfortably so as these are designed with performance and athletic bodies in mind. NOW WITH POCKETS!!! Treigning will be easy in this 4-way stretch fabric that is lightweight and durable.

Thursday, October 3, 2019

Product Review: Bear Komplex Carbon Fiber 3 Hole Grips

Product Details:
Have you ever been to a competition and been faced with a slick bar or a bar that you are not used to? If so, the new BKX Carbon Comp grips are for you! Our PATENT PENDING one of a kind technology allows these grips to stick to any bar, no matter the scenario. YOU DON'T EVEN NEED CHALK!!! Built with the same quality craftsmanship as our other grips, the Carbon grips are made for slick and powder coated bars.
  • As always, we protect the wrist from the buckle and use only the highest quality stitching to ensure they hold up. Grab a pair today and don't worry the next time you see a new bar. 
  • Manufactured from lightweight and sticky carbon fiber which feature a custom wrist strap which is designed for comfort and support positioned under the buckle. Bear KompleX Cross training grips will NOT dig into your wrist! 
  • Protect your hands and palms during Pull ups, Chest to bar, Muscle ups, Toes to Bar (T2B), Knees to Elbow (K2E), Kettlebell swings, Power lifting, Power Cleans, Deadlifts, Snatches, Gymnastics, and more... 
  • Durable triple stitching will ensure full support and stability when using the Bear KompleX gymnastics grips. You shouldn't have to worry about your hands when dominating your Cross training WOD! 
  • Our superior carbon fiber product will protect your hands and mold to fit the bar you are holding. Be sure to protect your hands during your Cross training WOD to maximize your output. 
  • Reduce slipping on the bar and keep banging out those pull-ups. Great for the Speal bar too! 

Product Review:
I have been participating in crossfit for a couple years now. I was getting discouraged about my lack of progress on bar movements. Anytime I jumped up to a bar for t2b or kipping pull-ups I could only perform a couple of repetitions before having to let go from hand pain and fear of tearing. I had tried 4-5 different grips to no avail. Then finally I went for the bear complex carbon fiber 3 finger hole grips that I saw other people using at the gym.

It was instant change in my ability to maintain grip on the bar. I was able to dramatically increase my reps on the bar without the pain and fear of ripping my hands. The wrist straps are comfortable and do not dig in. I also got a larger size since I prefer not using the finger holes. The carbon fiber does seem to possess an almost sticker quality to the bar compared to other materials. At the end of the day these grips are worth every penny.
Along the way of learning muscle-ups, toes-2-bar, butterfly PU and other high bar moves my hands would tear. Those of you who are learning a new technique know my plight when you are making GREAT progress and now it is hindered with torn hands. Some grips gave protection longer than others, but it was just a matter of time before ripping again.

In the end, I was thinking it was bad technique, but that WAS NOT the case. I tried numerous hand grips ( four different POPULAR brands, not store knock-offs) recommended from fellow crossfiters to reading online reviews, I even made some from 1" athletic tape.

Now, I have been using the 3 hole Carbon Fiber grips for several weeks with the same workout intensity and frequency, and have not torn either hand..... I guess you could make the argument that I have gotten smarter OR better with each technique, but I believe that would be reaching. If the previous statement IS TRUE, then the Carbon Grip were a HUGE part with protecting my hands... Fact is, I can't use torn hands as an excuse now..... Just give them a try

Monday, September 30, 2019

Is Pain Stopping You From Getting Back in the Game?

According to the American Academy of Pain Medicine, at least 100 million Americans are living with chronic pain (pain lasting longer than three months). As if this isn’t a troubling enough trend, in recent years, physicians have been prescribing more and more prescription pain medications, including opioids. In the year 2013 alone, physicians prescribed nearly a quarter of a billion opioid prescriptions— enough for one bottle of pills per American! This over-prescription has contributed to the significant abuse and overdose epidemic going on this country.

In the face of this public health problem, there’s been a push for a return to more non-invasive and safer pain relief strategies, including physical therapy.

According to the American Academy of Pain Medicine, at least 100 million Americans are living with chronic pain (pain lasting longer than three months). As if this isn’t a troubling enough trend, in recent years, physicians have been prescribing more and more prescription pain medications, including opioids.


In the face of this public health problem, there’s been a push for a return to more non-invasive and safer pain relief strategies, including physical therapy. So whether your pain is acute or chronic in nature, we encourage you to get in touch with our physical therapy team for natural pain relief.

5 Ways a Physical Therapist Provides Effective Pain Relief

A physical therapist is a clinical expert in movement and dysfunction who uses a combination of manual and active techniques to help people recover from injury or illness affecting a variety of bodily systems. They provide pain relief for their patients in several ways:


1. A physical therapist uses techniques and services that have been rigorously studied and supported by scientific research.



Strong research shows that physical therapy services can significantly reduce back pain, post-operative pain and a variety of other pain-related conditions. By implementing a plan of care using techniques vetted by scientific research, therapists are truly able to improve patient outcomes.


2. Physical therapy techniques have minimal-to-no side effects.



Treatments frequently used by your physical therapist — including joint mobilizations, massage, and modalities such as ultrasound, electrical stimulation and diathermy — have a very low risk of side effects, significantly lower than those imposed by other methods of pain relief (including invasive procedures and medications).


3. A physical therapist provides pain relief by addressing pain at its root, rather than simply masking it.



The problem with pills is that if they are at all effective at relieving your pain, it’s usually only a temporary relief at best — stop taking the medication, and the pain will return. This is because most pain medications don’t fully address the specific underlying reason for your pain to be there in the first place.
On the other hand, a physical therapist carefully evaluates your body and identifies the underlying reasons for your pain. By addressing the underlying cause (like scar tissue or muscle length imbalances), your therapist can help you relieve and even prevent pain.


4. A physical therapist can implement individualized exercise programs that are specifically tailored to your stage of recovery.



Everybody (and every body) is intended to move, but when you’re in pain, it may seem counterintuitive to say that exercise can help you feel better. The truth is, physical activity can significantly reduce your pain, and physical therapists are experts at designing individualized exercise programs that can promote tissue healing, swelling reduction, improved range of motion, and increased strength and endurance.


5. Participating in physical therapy is an engaging process that can inspire you to take a more active role in your pain management.



As important as primary care physicians are, they generally don’t get to spend very much face-to-face time with their patients. But the typical physical therapy session lasts anywhere from 30 to 60 minutes, and your physical therapist gets the opportunity to work closely with you and include you in in-depth discussions about progress, goals and needs.hysical therapy. So whether your pain is acute or chronic in nature, we encourage you to get in touch with our physical therapy team for natural pain relief.

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

WOD Wednesday #111

Complete as many rounds as possible in 15 minutes of:
  • 12 muscle-ups
  • 36 kettlebell swings
♀ 1.5 pood ♂ 2 pood



INTENDED STIMULUS - This workout is a firebreather! High skill, high load, high reps, medium distance. It is a challenging piece. It is very different from yesterday when we were shooting for no breaks. Today we are shooting for a break-up scheme that allows us to minimize the not-moving-time. If you go for sets that are too big in either movement, you will end up having to rest too much before going again. Today is about being smart and disciplined. Let's aim for something around five rounds. If you have muscle-ups and you have capacity then choose a number you can do with at most two short and controlled breaks all the way through. If you are modifying them, aim to preserve the high skill aspect as well as the aerobic component of the high reps. For the KBS choose a load that you can cycle, a weight a little bit heavier than you would typically use, but something that allows you to keep swinging it. Adjust the number of reps if needed so that you can have both a heavier load and a big set. Both movements are technical, and both will reward proper mechanics and efficiency. At the same time, both movements have a flow aspect to them that will allow you to stay present, grinding your reps. Today, be smart with your scaling and diligent with your movement, you will prevail.

Thursday, September 19, 2019

Recipe: Pistachio Crusted Chicken w/ cheesy Spinach


Prep Time: 15-18 min
Serves: 6

Ingredients
Calories
Fat (g)
Carbs (g)
Protein (g)
• 2 lbs. boneless/skinless chicken breasts
1000
6
0
210
• 1/3 c. olive oil
630
71
0
0
• 1 c. finely chopped shelled pistachio nuts
691
56
34
25
• 1/2 tsp. black pepper




Spinach:
• 2 medium onions, slivered
120
0

180

12

• 2 tbsp. butter
200
22
0
0
• 2 10 oz. bag of fresh baby spinach
120
0
18
12
• Salt and pepper, to taste




• 6 oz. shredded Italian blend cheese
540
42
6
42
Totals
3301
197
238
301
Per Serving
550
33
39.5
50


Instructions
• Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Trim the chicken breasts.
• In a small bowl or bag, combine the pistachio nuts and pepper. Brush the chicken breasts with olive oil, then roll them (or shake them if in a bag) in the nut mixture to cover both sides of the chicken.
• Place the chicken breasts in a greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-35 minutes, or until juices run clear and chicken is baked through. Set the time for 25 minutes, then add more time if necessary, so the chicken does not dry out.

Spinach:
• Cut up and sauté onions in a skillet with ½ the butter
• Wait 3-4 min and add the spinach, salt, pepper, cheese and the other ½ of the butter.
• Cook till spinach is wilted and cheese is melted.