Wednesday, February 22, 2017

WOD Wednesday #8

"Tabata This!"

Tabata Row

Rest 1 minute
Tabata Squat
Rest 1 minute
Tabata Pull-up
Rest 1 minute
Tabata Push-up
Rest 1 minute
Tabata Sit-up

The Tabata interval is 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest for 8 intervals.
Tabata score is the least number of reps performed in any of the eight intervals. Unit for the row is "calories".

5 Tabata intervals of, in order, Rowing (for calories), Squats, Pull-ups, Push-ups, and Sit-ups. The WOD takes 24:00 (5 X 4:00 + 1:00 Rest between exercises). Let’s start by defining both a Tabata Interval and Tabata scoring. A key part of the Tabata principle is that fitness can be measured not only by how much work you do, but also by how well you can maintain a particular level of output. Each Tabata interval comprises 8 cycles of 0:20 (20 seconds) of exercise and 0:10 of rest. A complete interval is therefore 4:00 long. Your score at the end of the 8 rounds is the LOWEST number of reps (or calories) performed in any one 0:20 segment. For example, if you record PU of 8-8-8-8-8-8-8-2 your score is 2.

Your score for “Tabata This” is the sum of your LOWEST scores in each 4:00 segment. It is NOT the total number of reps you performed in the WOD. You do all 8 0:20 on/0:10 off segments of each exercise before you move on to the next movement (i.e. all 8 rows before you start your squats). There is 1:00 of rest between each exercise. Row for calories. On a Concept 2 Rower set the computer to record Calories. Row for 0:20, then rest for 0:10. Record the number of calories you rowed in those 20 seconds. Do this a total of 8 times.

No comments:

Post a Comment