Friday, December 29, 2017

Product Review: King Kong Meal Prep Bags

Product Details:
FUEL your performance™ with the highest quality meal prep bags and backpacks.

The FUEL Meal Prep Bag comes with triple-layer insulating thermal polyester with high density EVA foam to keep your food cold all day long. Comes with 4 meal containers – dishwasher safe, microwave safe and BPA-free and fit up to 2 bottles/shakers in cooled comfort.

Built with the same quality you expect from King Kong Apparel. Military spec. 1000D nylon construction, double-stitched seams, heavy-duty shoulder strap clasps and the toughest #10 YKK zippers.

Dimensions are 10in high x 14.5in wide x 9in deep (25cm x 36cm x 22cm).

All our 1000D nylon-constructed bags come with our Generation warranty. This means that the buckles, zippers, bindings, fabric and stitching on our products will be free from defects in materials or workmanship for 25 years as long as the original purchaser owns the product. If one of our products fails during the warranty period due to a defect in material or workmanship, we will repair or replace the defective part or entire bag










Testimonial Review Courtesy of Taylor C.
The kingkong meal prep bag is nothing short of perfection. I have been using the beautifully crafted teal bag and haven’t looked back. Every aspect of the design has been crafted with care. It comes with 4 bpa free, microwave, and dishwasher safe containers. They are very durable container an aspect that is evident from the first time you use them. The containers snap closed and have a rubber lining that seals them shut. It also comes with two sturdy, long lasting ice packs that slide easily into the netted pockets built for them.
        On too the actual bag: The material is military grade construction with heavy-duty zippers and clasps. If you are looking for a long lasting durable bag this one is worth every penny. The performance of the insulation of this bag is impressive. When I am not working out I take this bag to work where it keeps my food cold and fresh for 7hrs. It may extend past this time but I have not tested the limits yet. 
         This bag has 3 major compartments and a minor pocket to quick stash things like keys. The top compartment is perfect for one meal container and ice packs. The bottom fits 3 meal containers and the ice packs; lastly the side pocket fits 2 shaker bottles. All have the high quality insulation. If I am only using one meal that day I use the main compartment for hauling extras such as my planner and typical purse items. On the outside of the bag is a strap to so the bag has the capability to slide on a suitcase handle for easy travel.

Get yours here:  https://www.kingkongapparel.com/au/shop/fuel-meal-prep-bag/

Wednesday, December 27, 2017

WOD Wednesday #51 Powered by OSO Barbell Collars

10 rounds for time of:
155-lb. power cleans, 5 reps
10 walking lunges



The workout for this week is sponsored by OSO Barbell Collars

Have some specialty bars?  Be sure to check out their OSO Axle Collars!  Checkout the product details below:

I found this while looking for an alternative collar to replace my regular spring ones. This cog wheel shaped barbell clamp is made of aircraft grade aluminum and fits any 2" olympic barbells. It has a brushed aluminum finish with a plastic lever for a quick lock and unlock mechanism. The inner side of the collar is lined with rubber for added grip and comes with 2-year warranty so long as the damages are sustained while it's on the barbell. It's made in the US and retails for $49.95 plus shipping.

These are fantastic collars! They are easy to put on and off, it is much easier to remove and install them in the OPEN position. Although the NEUTRAL position gives you some room to slide them on and off, unless you pull them off completely straight, they will tend to grip to the barbell.

The locking mechanism is great as well! They clip on extremely tight and the weights stay in place. These are especially useful for situations where dropping the weights repeatedly is necessary such as some crossfit workouts etc.. Any time i ever used and spring clips or cheap clips. the plates eventually end up sliding away.

Overall, I am very pleased.. These are each about 0.4-lbs, for a total of 0.8-lbs. This actually works out better for me since my barbell is 20-kg (44-lbs), so now it's closer to 45-lbs, now I can stop subtracting 1-lb from all my sets.


Monday, December 25, 2017

PT Pathologies: Thoracic Outlet Syndrome

Thoracic Outlet Syndrome (TOS) is a condition that is caused by the compression of nerves and blood vessels in the area between the clavicle and first rib.  The space between the collar bone and rib is more specifically known as the thoracic outlet.  This narrow space is the home to nerves, blood vessels and muscles.  There are three types of TOS:  neurogenic, vascular and disputed.  Neurogenic TOS is caused by compression of the brachial plexus.  The brachial plexus is a network of nerves that come from your spinal cord and control muscle movements and sensation in your shoulder, arm and hand.  In the majority of thoracic outlet syndrome cases, the symptoms are neurogenic.  Vascular TOS is described as compression of the artery or vein in the thoracic outlet.  The final type, disputed TOS, contains no neurological deficits, however, the patients have TOS symptoms and pain.

        When the tissue in the thoracic outlet is changed or enlarged, TOS is often times the outcome.  There are several causes of TOS, some of the main being trauma, pregnancy, repetitve injuries, weight lifting, weight gain, tumor growth, and birth defects such as having an extra rib.  Some symptoms common in TOS are pain of the neck, shoulder and arm, numbness in the hnd, arm and fingers, decreased circulation to limbs, weakness in arms shoulders and hands.

        Clinical presentation in TOS patients can differ depending on the type of TOS.  With venous obstruction, patients may present with upper extremity swelling.  With arterial obstruction, patients may report color changes of their affected upper extremity, or arm or hand pain.  Patients may have painless atrophy of the intrinsic muscles of the hand, and patients may report difficulty grasping objects as a result of intrinsic muscle weakness.  They may also report sensory loss.  In order to diagnose TOS, one will need to visit a nerve specialist and an experienced neurologist.  A comprehensive medical exam, including neurological exams, complete medical history, imaging studies such as X Rays and or MRI, electro diagnostic studies (EMG) will need to be performed.

         Physical therapists play a large role in the recovery of TOS patients.  The main goal of therapists assisting patients with TOS is to educate them about and improve their postural abnormalities, and decrease muscle imbalances in order to relieve unwanted pressure in the thoracic outlet.  It is the therapists job to explain postural positioning that are high risk and low risk positions for compression  Pain control and range of motion are also areas in which the therapist works with patients.  Stretching muscles such as the upper trapezius, levator scapula, and pecs are important in TOS recovery.  Once motion is regained and pain levels are decreased, strengthening exercises should be incorporated.  Other options include injections including nerve blocking agents and acupuncture.  If the above techniques do not improve a patient's symptoms the surgical route to recovery is an option.  Many doctors only recommend surgery as a last resort choice due to the complications associated with TOS surgery.

Friday, December 22, 2017

Product Review: Portable KettleBell

Product Details:
  • Portable? Take it anywhere! At home or on the road, inside the gym or outdoors. When finished, the PKB empty weighs less than 10 oz. & can be rolled up and packed up for travel on vacation or for work.
  • Adjustable? Choose your weight! Fill the PKB up with sand, water, dirt or rocks with sizes and weights ranging from 0 - 45lbs. Perfect for the beginner to the seasoned kettlebell enthusiast.
  • Versatile? More than a kettlebell! The PKB can be used as a dumbbell, weighted ball and more allowing you to create full body workouts with one piece of equipment.
  • Safe? Designed to protect! The PKB can be dropped and tossed without destroying you or your surroundings, within reason of course!

Key Features
• Handmade of Ballistic Nylon: Puncture, tear, abrasion resistant
• Use just about any filler: dry or wet sand, pebbles, gravel, dirt, mud... Water (Must purchase water bladder to hold liquid)
• Webbing reinforced: 1,800lb+ tensile strength
• Includes a 4" X 3" swath of loop velcro to personalize with patches
• Made in the U.S.A.
• WATER BLADDER SOLD SEPARATELY


Review:
I really like the concept of the PKB Kettlebell. I received a big (blue) bag - up to 45 lbs. Then bought a 50 lb bag of "Play Sand" at Home Depot. Put portions of 6-7lbs of sand into common plastic supermarket bags, tired them up, and put them one by one into the PKB. The total weight of PKB is 40lbs. I am quite satisfied with the result. I guess if I need more weight I could add some metal. One option could be "steel shot in bulk bags of 50#".

This kettlebell is very functional. Not too big (will fit between legs for kettlebell swings), adjustable, and portable. The handle grips are also softer than traditional metal kettlebells so its easy on the hands. I find I can fit about 60 pounds max when I fill with wet sand.   I'm generally happy with it for 2-hand swings. But the handle is alittle flimsy for 1-arm swings.  If they just used a little beefier handle, this would make this usable for 1-arm swings. I typically just use the PKB when travelling for clinicals and use my competition bells when I can get into the gym.  Sand fill is preferred but just plain dirt would work also. Having the PKB in a racked position for doing presses or using it for TGUs is a little wonky but doable. Snatches are also doable but the problem with the insufficient handle precludes doing very many at a time.

This is a great idea. you can add more sand/water as you become stronger and need the extra weight.  I travel every couple months and also do a kettle bell workout several times a week. It's a fast workout and gets maximum effect in a short amount of time.  I also use Air B&B's or stay in economical hotels that don't offer gym facilities. To tell you the truth, even high end hotels have not really caught up to Kettle Bells. There are plenty of weights gathering dust though. This is a perfect product to fold up in my travel bag, fill up with water to the weight I need and do my workout before or after a business meeting without missing a beat.  I love these because I don't have to worry about them damaging the floor. I have been mixing them up to use two different weights at the same time

PKB Content:
https://pkbfit.com/blogs/blog/training-and-travel-how-to-pack-your-weights
https://pkbfit.com/blogs/blog/4-tips-to-build-strength-and-power
https://pkbfit.com/blogs/blog/3-tips-for-getting-more-out-of-any-workout

PKB Workout with Barron, https://youtu.be/GJXmNfsPRLY
Kettlebell Full Body Workout, https://youtu.be/SrNRdy0LWKc
Get Ripped with the PKB, https://youtu.be/NmotXpWH32I

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

WOD Wednesday #50

10 Rounds:
-   30 Seconds Kettlebell Swings
-   30 Seconds Rest

Immediately into:

2 Rounds:
-   20 Kettlebell Sumo Deadlift High Pulls
-   50 Push Ups



Consistency beats intensity. Consistency beats volume. Consistency beats passion. Consistency dictates results. Consistency is what defines character.

Purpose is key. But passion is overrated. Because fanaticism is unsustainable. In other words, Its not about the epic workout. Instead, It’s about what you do daily — because it’s the anonymous micro actions undertaken regularly that dictate not just what you can achieve, but who you are as a human. The past is the past. And so I ask, what are you doing right now? Are your actions in alignment with your goals and core values? Are they congruent with the authentic person within? The best version of who you would like to be? If not, don’t wait until the new year to adjust — change is available to you in every moment of every day.





Monday, December 18, 2017

MUSCLE IMBALANCE, POSTURE AND POSTURAL PAIN SYNDROMES

To prevent pain, need balanced pull of muscles, as joints rotate.
Without balance, joint axes ("instant center of motion") will move incorrectly causing stress and wear on joints, producing misalignment and pain.

1.         Force couples:  Muscles pull in different directions, must be balanced to rotate joints around an axis correctly or will cause pain.

E.g. upper and lower trap during upward rotation.  If lower trap is weak, scapula will stay downwardly tipped, produce impingement at the shoulder.

E.g. TFL with glut maximus during hip abduction (also anterior and posterior gluteus medius).  Weight  bearing, would cause hip rotation if unbalanced, cause knee and ankle misalignment.

E.g. During elevation of the arm, if posterior shld cuff muscles are too weak, will get anterior subluxation of The humeral head by the deltoid and pect major.

2.         Muscle length:  Muscles that are too long or too short will cause abnormal motion, pain.

Muscles habitually kept in a stretched position grow more sarcomeres, cannot strongly contract in shortened range, sometimes called stretch weakness.  The muscles become longer.

Muscles habitually kept in a shortened position lose sarcomeres cannot  be lengthened normally.  The muscles become shorter.

     Too short:   E.g. Short pects and intercostals prevent thoracic extension, shoulder retraction

                        E.g. Short hip flexors cause anterior tilt of pelvis when in standing
Unilateral short hip flexors cause the pelvis to rotate forward at the end of stance each step, rotating the lumbar spine

                        E.g. Short lumbar extensors cause excessive lumbar extension (lordosis)

     Too long:    E.g. Long thoracic extensors causes kyphosis

                        E.g. Long abdominals causes lumbar lordosis

E.g. Long hip abductors on one side, long adductors on the other side cause the pelvis to be positioned to the side of the long abductors, causes lumbar
                        scoliosis

E.g. Long upper trapezeii cause shoulders to be too low, produce TOS (thoracic outlet syndrome)

                        E.g.  If the pect minor is too tight, lower trapezius too long, the scapula will stay
                        downwardly tipped, causing impingement at the shoulder during reaching.

General rule:  Need to lengthen shortened muscles first to permit normal excursion.  If strengthen first, may compound the problem.  (can do simultaneously)

E.g. if have tight pects and subscapularis, strengthening middle trap, infraspinatus and teres minor may just produce less shoulder motion overall.

General rule:  To shorten a posturally lengthened muscle, exercise it in its SHORTENED RANGE, against MINIMAL RESISTANCE.

E.g. if have forward, downwardly tipped scapulae, strengthen stretched lower trapezius by doing depression with the shoulder in full flexion against a wall or prone.

3.           Muscle recruitment -  The CNS can incorrectly learn to use one muscle rather than another, causing weakness in the underused muscle, tightness in the over used muscle.

E.g.  If use hamstrings for hip extension, not gluteus maximus, get weakness of glut, tightness of hamstrings

            E.g.  If use lateral hamstrings, not medial ones for knee flexion, get laterally rotated knee

E.g.  If use lumbar extensors instead of hip extensors at end of stance to push off, get lumbar pain

            E.g.  If don't push off well with gastrocs, get pain in ant tibialis from constant contraction,
ischemia (shin splints)

4.   Relative flexibility  -  "Stretchability" or flexibility is associated with muscle 1) tightness 2) looseness and with CNS recruitment. 
Either excess alters motion, causing pain-producing movements.  This pain is
generally in the segment that gets too much motion. 

General rule: proximal muscles should stabilize segments so most of the motion occurs at the distal joint (or get pain syndrome).

E.g. Hip should bend, not lumbar spine during bending/lifting.

E.g. If abdominals are more flexible than rectus femoris, as knee is flexed, rectus will pull pelvis into anterior tilt, cause lumbar pain.


E.g. If bending "at the waist" occurs at the lumbar spine instead of at the hip, get lumbar pain.  (common in tight hamstrings).

Friday, December 15, 2017

PT Pathologies: Rheumatoid Arthritis

This is a systemic autoimmune disorder of the connective tissue that is characterized by inflammation within synovial membranes, tendon sheaths and articular cartilage.  In the majority of RA patients, usually the smaller peripheral joints are affected.  Although most cases of RA are in the small joints, all connective tissue can be affected by this disorder.  Inflammation is present in the affected joints and over time this disorder begins to erode the cartilage resulting in permanent damage to the joint.

        Unfortunately, the eitology of this disorder is unknown.  There has been evidence to support the idea that there is a genetic predisposition with viral and bacterial triggers.  This disorder is mainly common among women as compared to men; they are three times more likely to be affected than men.  Studies show that there are approximately 1.5 million women affected and about 600,000 men affect by RA.  This disorder varies at how it affects each patient, it can come on very quickly or it can be a chronic issue that develops over time.  A person could get this disorder at any time, but the majority of RA patients are diagnosed between the ages of 30 and 50.  Some of the signs of RA are tenderness of small joints, bilateral involvement, and low grade fever.

        Just like any other disease, the earlier it is caught the better the prognosis will be.  There are many different ways you could try to help manage this but some of the most common ways include things such as massage, hot packs or hydrotherapy.  Management exercises can change once this disorder is in either the Chronic or Remission stages.  Once in this stage, the treatment shifts to focus on endurance, strength, and capacity.  Stretching would be a good way to help keep a normal range of motion in those affected joints during this time although therapists must be aware that aggressive stretching could completely contraindicate this.  Gentle or light conditioning, usually on a stationary bike, would be good to help with a patient's endurance as well.

Thursday, December 14, 2017

RECIPE: Coconut Milk Hot Cocoa

Overview of the RecipeStore bought hot chocolate “packets” contain massive amounts of sugar and even hydrogenated oils (an unexpected, undesirable ingredient). You can serve this with whipped cream made of organic heavy cream with a little bit of stevia. Sprinkle with cocoa nibs if desired.

Ingredients List

1/3 c full fat coconut milk (unsweetened)
2/3 c boiling water
1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla
15 drops liquid stevia
Optional
1-2 drops peppermint oil, whipped cream, or cocoa nibs
Note: For a creamier hot chocolate, you can use 1/3 coconut milk and 1/3 boiling water.


Cooking Directions

Boil water on the stove. Add in all remaining ingredients. Stir well.
Let cool a little bit, serve and enjoy!

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

WOD Wednesday #49

5 rounds for time of:
Row 1,000 meters
200-m farmers carry, 45-lb. dumbbells
45-lb. dumbbell waiters walk, 50 meters, right arm
45-lb. dumbbell waiters walk, 50 meters, left arm


5 times around with the triplet Row 1000M, a Farmer’s carry, and left- and right-handed Waiter’s Walks. Sit on the seat. Set the damper—the paddle on the side of the big circle in front of you—to 4 or 5. You can either use the computer to count down from 1000M, or you can count up to 1000. Grab the oar/handle. The stroke is Legs->Back->Arms. The return movement, or catch, is the opposite: Arms->Back->Legs. In the stroke you move from core to extremity. To reset you reverse the direction.

A Farmer’s Carry is actually more of a grip exercise than anything else. Hold a DB in each hand, letting it hang by your side. Move smartly, walk or waddle, for 200M (1/2 a lap on a standard track, up and back on the football field, 0.12 miles on the TM). The Rx’d weight is 45lbs for men, roughly 30lb.s for women. The scale is obviously to use a lighter DB or kettlebell.

 The last of our 3 exercises is the Waiter’s Walk. In your mind’s eye see a waiter walking through the restaurant with a single tray held aloft, elbow locked out. Use one of the DB’s you used for the Farmer’s Carry, first 50M with the right hand, then 50 with the left. Scale as above with a lighter DB. Sub a KB or a plate. You may grip the plate by holding with the hole if you wish, as this is actually more similar to using a DB or KB

Monday, December 11, 2017

Product Review: Kettlebell Kings Competition KBs

Product Details:
  • SAFETY, our competition kettlebells are specifically top-heavy molded with a thicker handle base and a greater percentage of load toward the top of the bell's body. This ensures that the kettlebell does not pull the lifter's arm to the outside when overhead or in the rack (resting at waist level) yielding injury prevention and energy conservation.
  • WINDOW, THE BIGGEST DIFFERENCE, smaller size and curvature compared to other models is designed for easier insertion with comfort overhead and in the rack position during lifts. More comfort and easier insertion equal better workouts and new personal records in strength, endurance and competitions.
  • BALANCE, advanced casting, along with no fillers shifting around inside, equals more dependability and stabilization during repetitions
  • HANDLE, 35mm diameter is the international standard and provides a larger surface area to push out reps
  • TOP QUALITY, steel used for durable and long lasting construction
  • NO WELDING, this unfilled competition kettlebell is made by precision single casting technology, which means it is cast as one solid piece instead of welding parts. 
  • NO FILLERS, each weight has an individual mold to cast precisely to the correct weight.
  • traditional competition kettlebells are made with ONE mold and filled with fillers like saw dust and ball bearings to achieve desired weight, this leads to imprecision in weight
  • NO RATTLE, fillers loosen over time and rattle around inside, these kettlebells have no fillers or rattle
  • COLOR CODED, each individual weight is colored coded to a specific color for easy identification and international competition standards
  • MADE for Kettlebell Sport, meets Girevoy Sport Union (GSU), IKFF and International Union of Kettlebell Lifting (IUKL) standards. 
























My Review:
The Kettlebell Kings Competition Kettlebell is the perfect tool for building strength and toning your entire body. This solid kettlebell is constructed as one piece for ultimate safety and durability.  It has smooth handles and excellent balance making it great for competition training or just having a quality KB for your home gym or Crossfit WODS.   I love the coating on the weight. It keeps the enamel from chipping, and since I keep it in the garage the coating protects the weight from moisture as well. The different color helps me distinguish the weight from other kettlebells immediately which is a nice bonus.

I've used cast-iron kettlebells for several years and wanted a sport/competition kettlebell for a smoother handle surface. I naturally thought of Kettlebell Kings as I already have a cast-iron bell from them that is well-built.  My favorite aspect about the design of these bells is the thicker handles which make the bells more comfortable in the rack position. That said, some people with smaller hands find the thicker handles to be an issue. I only mention this as something to consider. The coloring of the sport bells is also really cool. It feels great when you're able to move up in weight and use a new color as all of the sport bells are the same size.  I definitely think this product feels a little more comfortable on the forearm and wrist than the cast iron bells and the handle is smooth but not slick.

I believe everyone should order a kettlebell from Kettlebell Kings as it is the ultimate piece of home workout gear. Quick workouts with swings, presses, snatches, high pulls, get ups, running, and body weight movements will make it so you will never have an excuse to not get in your workout. Add on the ability to easily travel with it makes this item a no brainer!  It is a top shelf product, beautifully fabricated and finished at a super competitive price: truly Professional Grade! You’re wasting your money on any other competition bell.

Get your own competition kettlebell directly from Kettlebell Kings here: https://www.kettlebellkings.com/competition-kettlebells/
or
Order yours off Amazon:

Friday, December 8, 2017

Product Review: Bed Fan

Product Info:
The Bedfan is the only Original Bed Fan built in America supporting American manufacturing. The Bedfan Cooling System is guaranteed to help if you are sleeping hot. If the Bed fan cooling system is unable to help you to stop sleeping hot, sleep cooler at night and stop night sweats you need only return it to us for a no hassle refund. Instant cool relief from night sweats and menopause night sweats throughout the night! You will love this bed cooling fan known as the Bedfan. We support and stand behind American manufactures at all cost, even when doing otherwise would be more profitable. By supporting the Original Bed Fan ours, you are helping more than 6 other American manufacturing companies to keep their doors open so that they, like us, can help keep American manufacturing alive for the future of our children.

Bedfan Helps: 
  • eliminate night sweats
  • Cools off hot sleepers
  • Reduces sleepless nights
  • Save money on air conditioning
  • Simple and discreet
  • Easy to install
  • Low wattage
  • Discrete controller wont clutter up your night stand


This thing absolutely works. Went from waking up drenched in sweat to waking up completely dry, and comfortable. Use this fan with high thread count sheets if you want maximum performance. We had just purchased a set of high quality cotton 700 count sheets, and it makes a HUGE difference in effect that the fan has. The air doesn't escape through the sheets as easily and worms its way around you while you sleep. Our comforter is a heavy quilted type, but the air still moves around in the sheets just fine. Durability is awesome. I've accidentally sat on it quite a number of times, having completely forgotten it was there, and it never even needed a readjustment. Really solid construction.

If you're a hot sleeper, or can't bare to part with that designer comforter from bed bath and beyond that weighs a metric ton and could easily keep an entire community warm, I suggest giving this product a try.

Order yours now for only $85 now for a limited time: http://www.bedfan.com/order-here.html

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

WOD Wednesday #48 Powered by Bear Komplex

Every Minute on the Minute for 14 minutes:
- 10 Kettlebell Swings - 50/35lbs
- 7 Kettlebell Front Squats
- 4 Burpee Tuck Jumps




About Bear Komplex: 
Bear KompleX (with a "K") was developed by a couple of very average athletes with slightly above average aspirations, and way above average palm rips from the Speal bar.

We have fixed all of that with our PATENTED 2 hole and 3 hole genuine leather BEAR KompleX grips. Our innovative styling protects your wrist from that pesky buckle, we use the best leather for quality and comfort, and we incorporate several colors and styles to enhance your performance. You will also notice the words "GET BETTER" on all of our products. Because as the motto for our small business, it is also the reason why you lace em up every day and get back in the box for cruel and unusual WOD exposure.  Since creating the BEST GRIPS ON THE PLANET, we have since evolved the company into providing other essentials for the fitness community. https://www.bearkomplex.com/

Monday, December 4, 2017

PT Pathologies: Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

Carpal tunnel syndrome (CTS) occurs as a result of compression of the medial nerve where it passes through the carpal tunnel at the wrist.  Normal tissue pressure within the tunnel is 7-8 mmHg but CTS can result in pressure above 30 mmHG, which further increases with flexion and extension of the wrist the increase in pressure produces ischemia in the nerve.  The increase in pressure produces ischemia in the nerve  This results in sensory and motor disturbances in the median nerve distribution of the hand.

        Any condition such as edema, inflammation, tumor or fibrosis may cause compression of the median nerve within the carpal tunnel and result in ischemia.  The exact cause of CTS is unclear, however conditions that produce inflammation of the carpal tunnel that can contribute to CTS include repetitive use, rheumatoid arthritis, pregnancy, diabetes, trauma, tumor, hypothryoidism, and wrist sprain or fracture.  Other causes include congenital narrowing of the tunnel and vitamin B6 deficiency.

        Approximately 5 million individuals in the United States are diagnosed with CTS.  Most patients are diagnosed between 35 and 55 years of age with prevalence in women.  A patient with CTS will initially present with sensory changes and paresthesia along the median nerve distribution in the hand.  It may also radiate into the upper extremity, shoulder and neck.  Symptoms include night pain, weakness in the hand, muscle atrophy, decreased grip strength, clumsiness, and decreased wrist mobility.

        Electromyography and electroneurographic studies can be used to diagnose a motor conduction delay along the median nerve within the carpal tunnel.  MRI is sometimes used to identify inflammation of the median nerve, altered tendon or nerve positioning within the tunnel or thickening of the tendon sheath.  Physical examination, history and review of the symptoms are extremely important when diagnosing CTS.

        Physical therapy management includes splinting, carpal mobilizations, and gentle stretching.  An adaptation of the patient's occupation, workplace, leisure activities, and living environment may be necessary.  If that fails then the patient may require surgery to release the carpal ligament and decompress the median nerve.  Post surgical physical therapy intervention should include the use of moist heat with electrical stimulation, cryotherapy gentle massage, tendon gliding exercises, and active range of motion.  A patient should initially avoid wrist flexion and a forceful grasp.  After 4 weeks a patient can progress with active wrist flexion, gentle stretching, putting exercises, light progressive resistive exercise, and continued modifications of body mechanics.  Radial deviation should be avoided due to the tendency for irritation and inflammation.

Friday, December 1, 2017

Product Review: Cross Ropes Starter Set

Product Details:
Are you beginning a jump rope fitness regimen? When it's time to get fit, the Crossrope Starter Set is the ideal exercise jump rope set for beginners and seasoned jumpers who want the most versatile jump rope system available!

Summary
  • Includes Crossrope Rugged Handles, 1/4 Lb Agility rope, and 1 Lb Intensity rope. Two jump ropes. One effective system.
  • Both ropes can be used on any surface so you can train anywhere. This is the ultimate portable, full body training jump rope system.
  • Use the versatile Agility rope for skills like double unders and intense cardio sessions.
  • Our heavier Intensity cable is an excellent weight for beginners learning to jump rope or advanced jumpers looking to improve power and conditioning.
  • Jump in style by customizing your rope with 6 bold handle color options. Limited quantities. (Add $3.00)
  • Comes with our Jump Without Limits quick reference guide to give you technique tips, starter workouts, and jump rope challenges.
'

Detailed Overview
The Starter Set offers a perfect introduction to the versatility of an interchangeable jump rope system that can be used anywhere. By transitioning between a lightweight rope and a heavier weight rope in your workouts, you can improve your rope jumping ability and fitness level. Take your workout with you wherever you go!

Improve fitness and build endurance with the 1/4 Lb Agility Rope.

Improve definition and build power with the 1 Lb Intensity Rope.

Both of these ropes are ideal for beginners &  experienced jumpers because the weight in the rope provides feedback that improves the ability to learn rhythm no matter how uncoordinated you are!
Rugged handles are made with an advanced, almost unbreakable plastic and have high quality, encased stainless steel ball bearings for smooth rotational action. (Weight: 10 Oz.)
Both ropes are labeled with the name, weight and length for easy reference.


My Review:
These are an amazing set of ropes! It's a bit pricey compared to all the other ropes but by far, these are the best weighted ropes I've used. The concept of having the weight distributed along the rope rather than handles makes you work much harder.

Handles:
The handles feel great and the bearings make rotating the rope very very smooth. The tennis wrap makes holding it comfortable, and I believe the handles themselves weigh about 10oz all together. The handles just feel very solid and well made. The hook makes changing ropes pretty easy. Overall, it has a solid build, bearings make the rotating the rope super smooth and they're comfortable.

Ropes:
These are awesome and they don't tangle! The 1/4-lb feels the same as a normal jump rope in terms of weight, so if you're experienced, you can go pretty fast with these. The 1-lb is a different story, doesn't feel too heavy until you start jumping, you can really feel your forearms work. It does say indoor/outdoor, but I tried it in my backyard pavement where it's a little rough and the 1-lb was already having some deep scratches on it, the 1/4-lb seemed okay though, most likely because it doesn't have as much force hitting the ground. I ended up moving into the garage and taped a piece of cardboard to the floor and started jumping on that.  If you plan on jumping outdoors, I would have either a mat or cardboard (unless you can find a smooth surface like tennis court).

My Rating: 9/10 (for weighted ropes*)

I have been working out with a speed rope for some time now and have been enjoying the cardio burn. There is a definite difference between speed ropes and these. The quality of the handles and ropes is far superior. I love that I can feel the workout all the way up through my shoulders. I found the speed rope tricky to find a good rhythm, but these ropes are heavier and more intuitive. I found a great rhythm and would 100% recommend these ropes. Try it, you won't go back.

Discover the best fitness jump rope set for beginners. Order your Starter Set today!
https://www.crossrope.com/products/infinity-rope-system/starter

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

WOD Wednesday #47 Powered by Born Primitive

50-40-30-20-10 reps for time of:
Wall-ball shots, 20-lb. ball
Box jumps, 24-in. box



This weeks workout is brought to you by Born Primitive.



Here is a Born Primitive Testimonial from one of our subscribers: 
"Rhapsody sports bra also has eye catching geometric strapping across the back as well has padding. I found that this particular style seemed to give more support; my guess is that it comes
from the larger base of fabric going around the back. When it comes to finding a bras that function as well as look amazing the Rhapsody wins in my book. With all the different styles Born primitive has to offer there is definitely something for everyone. I personally can’t wait to try new ones."

Monday, November 27, 2017

PT Pathologies: Plantar Fascitis

Plantar Fascitis is a problem that many people in the world deal with on a daily bassis.  Plantar fascia is a thin layer of tough connective tissue that supports the arch of the foot.  According to the Mayo Clinic it states, "Plantar Fascitis involves pain and inflammation of a thick band of tissues, called the plantar fascia, that runs across the bottom of your foot and connects your heel bone to your toes."  It is a chronic over use condition that develops secondary to repetitive stretching of the plantar fascia through excessive foot pronation during the loading phase of gait.

         Plantar Fascitis is initially treated based on symptoms and physical examination.  When a patient goes to the doctor with the possibility of having plantar fascitis, a thorough history and biomechanical assessment of the foot, observation of the fat pad, examination for achilles tendon tightness, analysis of footwear, and gait disturbances all assist in diagnosis.  A patient will typically present with severe pain in the heel when first standing up in the morning when the fascia is contracted, stiff and cold.  However once your foot limbers up, the pain normally decreases but it may return after long periods of standing or getting up from a seated position.

          A person with this condition will go see a physical therapist to get treatment done on the bottom of their foot to help with the pain.  Some of the interventions that a physical therapist will perform are ice massage, deep friction massage, shoe modification, heel insert application, foot orthotic prescription, modification of activities to include non-weight bearing endurance activities, and a gentle stretching program of the achilles tendon.   Physical therapy is an important part of treatment because a physical therapist can show you exercises to strength your lower leg muscles, helping to stabilize your walk and lessen the work load on your plantar fascia, and a physical therapist may also teach you how to apply taping to support the bottom of your foot.
     

Saturday, November 25, 2017

PT Pathologies: Down Syndrome

Down syndrome occurs when the cell division is interrupted by an error and results in 47 chromosomes.  The 21st pair of chromosomes in the chain is responsible for Down Syndrome.  This happens either by mosaicism, nondisjunction, or translocation during the division of the cells.  Diagnosis of Down Syndrome can be done while in vitro or following birth.  In vitro is performed via amniocentesis or lab work or by karyotype test following birth to confirm the diagnosis.  Furthermore, the presentation of the infant provides much of the diagnostic clues.  For example, a Down Syndrome baby presents with a myriad of issues: simian line, hypotonia, almond shaped eyes, congenitial heart disease, developmental delays, large tongue, abnormally shaped ears, flattened nasal bridge, mental retardation, and epicanthal folds.  Down syndrome is challenged by a variety of health conditions and problems that can require intervention for life.

        A child with Down Syndrome experiences deficits in many areas resulting in the need for a team approach for providing care.  This can include therapies (PT, OT, ST, Behavioral and Emotional), Pharmacological and medical team members.  Physical therapy in early development is needed in order to either help the child learn to roll over, crawl, grasp, or walk or compensate in another manner for the inability to progress normally.  The disease progresses and can include more complications such as cardiac, immune system, and pulmonary issues along with Alzheimer's disease.  Individuals with Down syndrome generally live to be 55.

        Physical Therapy helps a child with Down Syndrome to improve function within the community, home and school.  Physical therapies focus for a child is on gross motor skills especially those sitting, jumping, running, or walking.  Physical therapy will assist with improving strength as well as instructing optimal movement patterns.  The goals for a child with Down Syndrome should include a foundation for continuation of exercise for life.  As a physical therapist, the goal should be to help child create tasks and activities that are easier for them. Finally a major goal should be to include the parents in all facets of the treatment plan for consistency.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

WOD Wednesday #46 - Powered by Bear Komplex

3 rounds for time of:
30 kettlebell swings, 1.5/1 pood
15 triple-unders
Run 400 meters





About Bear Komplex:
Bear KompleX (with a "K") was developed by a couple of very average athletes with slightly above average aspirations, and way above average palm rips from the Speal bar.

We have worked to create a more comfortable grip unlike any other to enhance the experience for all fitness freaks. If you have ever had your palms rip, you are aware of how painful it can be and how frustrating it is to wait for them to heal. And, if you have ever used grips, you are aware of how the buckle digs into your wrist and how they are overall pretty uncomfortable and not very durable.

We have fixed all of that with our PATENTED 2 hole and 3 hole genuine leather BEAR KompleX grips. Our innovative styling protects your wrist from that pesky buckle, we use the best leather for quality and comfort, and we incorporate several colors and styles to enhance your performance. You will also notice the words "GET BETTER" on all of our products. Because as the motto for our small business, it is also the reason why you lace em up every day and get back in the box for cruel and unusual WOD exposure.  Since creating the BEST GRIPS ON THE PLANET, we have since evolved the company into providing other essentials for the fitness community. https://www.bearkomplex.com/

Monday, November 20, 2017

Black Friday Fitness Gear Deals of the Week #2

Looking at some Black Friday deals and sales that are already starting to pop up here are the top 3 deals that I have seen this week for fitness equipment.

#1 Titan Fitness Olympic Barbells  (link) Starting at $78! 
The Titan Fitness 86" Olympic weight bar is sturdy and convenient enough for all gyms and homes. The 2" diameter bar fits Olympic weight plates and has a maximum weight capacity of 1500 lb. The bar's grip area measures 30mm in diameter and has a knurled handle for extra safety to help prevent slipping. You can use it for bench pressing,deadlifts, oly lifting and more.

Specifications:
- Knurling: 16" of knurling on either end, 8" of center knurling
- Weight sleeve diameter: 2"
- Grip area diameter: 30mm
- Bar length: 86"
- Length between sleeves: 52"
- Weight: 45 lb
- Weight capacity: 1500 lb
- Color: Chrome finish
- Material: Cold-rolled steel


#2 Titan Drag Sleds  - (link) Only $68 and FREE SHIPPING
Build explosive speed and strength with this weight sled from Titan Fitness. Designed for use with Olympic plates it's a great addition to any personal or professional gym. Forward facing drags are excellent for speed development, primarily targeting your posterior chain, and backward facing (facing toward sled) drags are a great way to build quadriceps strength.

Features:
- Use with Olympic plates
- Includes leash / harness
- Use on grass, carpet, or concrete
- Little assembly required

- Max capacity: 500 lb
- Powder Coated finish

Specifications:
- Weight: 37 LBS
- Width: 16"
- Length: 24"


#3 BMP Fitness Slam/Wall Ball , 20 lb - Only $33 (FREE SHIPPING & Lifetime Warranty!)
  • Synthetic leather shell maintains durability even with regular Use
  • All medicine balls measure 14 inch in diameter
  • Maintains a uniform shape and weight balance at all intensity workouts
  • Slam balls range in weight from 4lbs, 8lbs, 12lbs, 20lbs, and 25lbs

#4. Steel Parallette Set - Only $75  (Half the price of Rogue!)


As a bonus to my viewers you can get 2 FREE Audio Books when you sign up for an Audible Free Trial on Amazon! No Risk, Cancel anytime -be sure to take advantage of this offer!

RECIPE: Crock Pot Ginger Cranberry Pork Roast


Prep Time: 4-6 min
Serves: 6-8(with some left over meat)
Ingredients
Calories
Fat (g)
Carbs (g)
Protein (g)
3 lbs. pork shoulder
3648
256
0
320
• 2 cans of cranberry sauce
880
0
200
0
• ½ c. minced fresh ginger




• 2 tbsp. honey
128
0
32
0
• 1 tbsp. arrowroot powder




• 5 crowns of fresh broccoli, cut up
1025
11
200
85
• 2 tsp. salt




Totals
5681
267
432
405
Per Serving
710
33
54
51


Instructions
• Dump the first five ingredients into your crockpot along with ½ cup of water, and cook on low for 4 to 6 hours, or until fully cooked.
Remember each crockpot is different, so the first time you make a recipe, really watch it closely so you don’t over or under cook the dish.
• Take out the roast and put in a large bowl and shred with a fork
• Tear or cut up the broccoli and put it in the crockpot with the salt and turn on high for about 15-20 min. This will cook the broccoli in the juice.

Product Review: Double Under Wonder

About:
We believe great double-unders start with a great speed rope. That's why we went to work creating high end jump ropes with components that can be customized.

Our Jump ropes are super-fast, super-stylish, and they don't get lost in the crowd when you're in a group workout. You'll always know which jump rope is yours, and having your own jump rope will take your double-under skills to new heights.

Website and Online Store
https://doubleunderwonder.com/collections/products


Use PROMO CODE: (VM10)
To receive 10% off your purchase!


        Double Under Wonder allows you to design your own jump rope. You get to choose from nine different colors for the handles and each one can be a different color. There are six different patterns that can also be printed on the handles such as chevron stars and polka dots, but you don’t have to get one printed on them. There are six different rope colors allowing for millions of customized color combinations. I personally chose to create an American themed jumped rope with a blue and red handle with stars printed on them and a white rope. The company will precut the rope based off your height or you can choose to leave it adjustable. I think this is an amazing deal for $19.99 for a high quality and customized rope.
        The women’s tank tops from this company are extremely comfortable to workout in. They are made of a cotton polyester blend allowing for comfort and durability. You really buy them for the great price and comical/interesting prints. One that I personally related to “3...2… one second, I have to go pee first haha! Fair warning these tanks do run small.


        Buying from Double Under Wonder is an experience. When I received the products I was shocked by the detail and care put into the packaging. The shipping bag was designed with peacock feathers printed on it and each item was individually wrapped in floral printed tissue paper held closed with the soft fabric hair ties! The jump rope was neatly coiled and held in a small drawstring bag.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

WOD Wednesday #45 Powered by Born Primitive

Complete as many rounds as possible in 12 minutes of:
Dumbbell deadlifts, 9 reps
6 burpees
Dumbbell power cleans, 3 reps


***Men use 50lb DBs, Women use 35lb DBs


This weeks workout is brought to you by Born Primitive.

Here is a Born Primitive Testimonial from one of our subscribers, Taylor C, for the Born Primitive Black Booty Shorts:
"Typically, I am not the biggest fan of booty shorts, but these are perfect for your daily WOD. Compared to other brands such as Nike or under armour the spandex material is thicker and feels like a higher quality, it also fits true to size. The waistband is very comfortable and does not slip down. It also has a hidden key pocket. The only concern I have is the possibility of the label eventually fading or coming off. I have not seen signs of this and I believe that washing gently and air-drying would help prevent this problem."
https://bornprimitive.com/shop/womens-2/american-flag-primitive-booty-shorts/

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Fitness Gear Deals of the Week #1

Looking at some Black Friday deals and sales that are already starting to pop up here are the top 2 deals that I have seen this week for fitness equipment.  Act fast because these deals end 11/19!


#1.  Wall Mounted Pull Up Bar  (link)
ON SALE $55!
Outfit your home gym with the ultimate pull up bar, & put away that old door mounted bar for good!

Heavyweight steel construction ensures stability and solid feel just like in your favorite gym, with quality craftsmanship guaranteed to handle the demands of seasoned athletes and amateurs alike.

Matte black powder coating keeps it from becoming slippery like chrome or glossy competitors, so you can finish your workout without delay. Unmatched fit and finish ensure countless years of hard use, even for the most demanding athlete.

Features
- Capacity: 500 lbs
- Can be installed vertically or horizontally
- Versatile setup via mounting hardware (not included)
- Can be mounted on wood 16" wood studs for custom widths at 16", 32" or 52" apart
- Mount on concrete wall at any width up to 53" with supplied bar
- Height: Can be adjusted based on ceiling height or athlete height


#2 Rubber Hex Dumbbell Pairs - 20% OFF

These rubber coated dumbbells from Titan are a great addition to any gym weather you are just starting out or a seasoned weight lifter. The handles are chrome plated and textures for a comfortable and strong grip that holds up to use and weather. 

High Quality Design:
Weights stay tight and do not detach, rubber coating will not damage floor or other surfaces
Materials:
Solid cast iron, chrome plated handle & rubber coated weights
Versatile: Designed for use with curls, lifts, squats, press, and more
Safe:
Flat hexagonal surfaces will prevent rolling and knurled handle prevents slipping
Durable:
No maintenance required, long lasting finish prevents rust


Click here for more Black Friday Doorbusters at Titan.Fitness! Ends 11/19/17